Barbenheimer

A mash-up of titles for all the hype of a Barbie/Oppenheimer opening weekend!

Updated July 25, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
109 East Palace : Robert Oppenheimer and the secret city of Los Alamos
Conant, Jennet.
From the bestselling author of Tuxedo Park, the extraordinary story of the thousands of people who were sequestered in a military facility in the desert for twenty-seven intense months under J. Robert Oppenheimer where the world's best scientists raced to invent the atomic bomb and win...
American Prometheus : the triumph and tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer
Bird, Kai.
THE INSPIRATION FOR THE ACADEMY AWARD®-WINNING MAJOR MOTION PICTURE OPPENHEIMER * "A riveting account of one of history's most essential and paradoxical figures."--Christopher Nolan #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * PULITZER PRIZE WINNER * The definitive biography of J....
Atomic love
Fields, Jennie
"A novel of science, love, espionage, beautiful writing, and a heroine who carves a strong path in the world of men. As far as I'm concerned there is nothing left to want."--Ann Patchett, author The Dutch House "A highly-charged love story that reveals the dangerous energy at...
Atomic ranch : design ideas for stylish ranch homes
Gringeri-Brown, Michelle.
Atomic Ranch is an in-depth exploration of post-World War II residential architecture in America. Mid-century ranches (1946-1970) range from the decidedly modern gable-roofed Joseph Eichler tracts in the San Francisco Bay area and butterfly wing houses in Palm Springs, Florida...
Atomic women : the untold stories of the scientists who helped create the nuclear bomb
Montillo, Roseanne
Bomb meets Code Girls in this nonfiction narrative about the little-known female scientists who were critical to the invention of the atomic bomb during World War II.   They were leaning over the edge of the unknown and afraid of what they would...
The body is not an apology : the power of radical self-love
Taylor, Sonya Renee
In a revolutionary departure from everything we've been told about body-positivity, The Body Is Not an Apology founder Sonya Renee Taylor explicitly makes the connection between radical self-acceptance and social justice. Systems of oppression thrive off of our inability to make...
The body liberation project : how understanding racism and diet culture helps cultivate joy and build collective freedom
King, Chrissy
From author and wellness personality Chrissy King, an exciting, genre-redefining narrative mix of memoir, inspiration, and activities and prompts, with timely messages about social and racial justice and how the world needs to move beyond body positivity to something even more exciting and...
Bomb : graphic novel : the race to build--and steal--the world's most dangerous weapon
Sheinkin, Steve
A riveting graphic novel adaptation of the award-winning nonfiction book, Bomb--the fascinating and frightening true story of the creation behind the most destructive force that birthed the arms race and the Cold War. In December of 1938, a chemist in a...
Brotherhood of the bomb : the tangled lives and loyalties of Robert Oppenheimer, Ernest Lawrence, and Edward Teller
Herken, Gregg
The fascinating story of the men who founded the nuclear age, fully told for the first time The story of the twentieth century is largely the story of the power of science and technology. Within that story is the incredible tale of the human conflict between Robert Oppenheimer, Ernest Lawrence, and...
Cinderella Ate My Daughter Dispatches from the Front Lines of the New Girlie-Girl Culture
Orenstein, Peggy.
Peggy Orenstein, acclaimed author of the groundbreaking New York Times bestsellers Girls & Sex and Schoolgirls, offers a radical, timely wake-up call for parents, revealing the dark side of a pretty and pink culture confronting girls at every turn as they grow into adults...
Don't call me princess : essays on girls, women, sex, and life
Orenstein, Peggy
The New York Times bestselling author of Girls & Sex and Cinderella Ate My Daughter delivers her first ever collection of essays--funny, poignant, deeply personal and sharply observed pieces, drawn from three decades of writing, which trace girls' and women's progress (or lack thereof) in what...
Exploring American girlhood through 50 historic treasures
Remer, Ashley
Who are the girls that helped build America? Conventional history books shed little light on the influence and impact of girls' contributions to society and culture. This oversight is challenged by Girl Museum and their team, who give voices to the most neglected, yet profoundly impactful,...
The general and the genius : Groves and Oppenheimer : the unlikely partnership that built the atom bomb
Kunetka, James W.
Two ambitious men. One historic mission. With a blinding flash in the New Mexico desert in the summer of 1945, the world was changed forever. The bomb that ushered in the atomic age was the product of one of history's most improbable partnerships. The General and the Genius<...
The good, the bad, and the Barbie : a doll's history and her impact on us
Stone, Tanya Lee
"Balanced, funny, provocative--and most of all, important for anyone wanting to un­derstand girlhood in America."--E. Lockhart, New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars  Barbie just might be the most famous doll in the world. She has...
Grey Gardens
Maysles, David.
A film about Edith and Edie Bouvier Beale, aunt and first cousin to Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, and their life together in a crumbling East Hampton estate. Eccentric, unpredictable, sometimes unsettling, the film is ultimately a moving portrait of a remarkable mother/daughter bond.
Her hidden genius
Benedict, Marie
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Mystery of Mrs. Christie and The Only Woman in the Room! Rosalind Franklin has always been an outsider--brilliant, but different. Whether working at the laboratory she adored in Paris or toiling at...
Horse Barbie : a memoir
Rocero, Geena
"A moving chronicle of trans resilience and joy" (Vogue)fromone of Out100's Most Impactful and Influential LGBTQ+ Storytellers "Groundbreaking . . . Rocero quite literally models what triumph can look like."-Glamour (Women of the Year) WINNER...
Lessons in chemistry
Garmus, Bonnie
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * GMA BOOK CLUB PICK * Meet Elizabeth Zott: "a gifted research chemist, absurdly self-assured and immune to social convention" (The Washington Post) in 1960s California whose career takes a detour when she becomes the unlikely star of a ...
Moxie : a novel
Mathieu, Jennifer
Now a Netflix Original Film directed by Amy Poehler! "Moxie is sweet, funny, and fierce. Read this and then join the fight."--Amy Poehler An unlikely teenager starts a feminist revolution at a small-town Texas high school in this novel from...
My mechanical romance
Follmuth, Alexene Farol
Opposites attract in this nerdy YA romance from the NYT best-selling author of The Atlas Six! A Mathical Book Prize Honor Book "It's rom-com perfection."--Adiba Jaigirdar, author of The Henna Wars Bel doesn...
The Other Einstein A Novel
Benedict, Marie.
From beloved New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Marie Benedict comes the story of a not-so-famous scientist who not only loved Albert Einstein, but also shaped the theories that brought him lasting renown. In the tradition of Beatriz Williams and Paula McClain, Marie Benedict...
Radioactive! : how Irene Curie and Lise Meitner revolutionized science and changed the world
Conkling, Winifred
The fascinating, little-known story of how two brilliant female physicists' groundbreaking discoveries led to the creation of the atomic bomb. In 1934, Irène Curie, working with her husband and fellow scientist, Frederic Joliot, made a discovery that would change the world:...
Robert Oppenheimer : a life inside the center
Monk, Ray.
Robert Oppenheimer was among the most brilliant and divisive of men. As head of the Los Alamos Laboratory, he oversaw the successful effort to beat the Nazis in the race to develop the first atomic bomb--a breakthrough that was to have eternal ramifications for mankind and that made Oppenheimer the...
The secret life of The lonely doll : the search for Dare Wright
Nathan, Jean
A glamorous, haunted life unfolds in the mesmerizing biography of the woman behind a classic children's book In 1957, a children's book called The Lonely Doll was published. With its pink-and-white-checked cover and photographs featuring a wide-eyed doll, it captured the imaginations of young...
The story of Barbie and the woman who created her
Eagan, Cindy
A beautifully illustrated picture book about Barbie--the most famous doll in the world--and her visionary creator, Ruth Handler. After noticing how her daughter played with "grown-up" paper dolls, Ruth Handler wanted to create a doll that would inspire little girls to use their huge...
Strong is the new pretty : a celebration of girls being themselves
Parker, Kate T.
Girls being fearless. Girls being silly. Girls being wild, stubborn, and proud. Girls whose faces are smeared with dirt and lit up with joy. So simple and yet so powerful, Strong Is the New Pretty celebrates, through more than 175 memorable photographs, the strength and spirit of girls being 100%...
The Swans of Fifth Avenue : a novel
Benjamin, Melanie
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The author of The Aviator's Wife returns with a triumphant new novel about New York's "Swans" of the 1950s--and the scandalous, headline-making, and enthralling friendship between literary legend Truman Capote and peerless socialite Babe Paley. ...
Trinity : a graphic history of the first atomic bomb
Fetter-Vorm, Jonathan
Trinity, the debut graphic book by Jonathan Fetter-Vorm, depicts the dramatic history of the race to build and the decision to drop the first atomic bomb in World War Two--with a focus on the brilliant, enigmatic scientist J. Robert Oppenheimer. "Succeeds as both a...
The wives of Los Alamos : a novel
Nesbit, TaraShea.
Finalist for the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize, a New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice, a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Selection, an Indies Choice Debut Pick, an Amazon Best Book of the Month, and winner of two New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards. The "haunting...
The woman who split the atom : Lise Meitner
Moss, Marissa
As a female Jewish physicist in Berlin during the early 20th century, Lise Meitner had to fight for an education, a job, and equal treatment in her field, like having her name listed on her own research papers. Meitner made groundbreaking strides in the study of radiation, but when...
Yes, you can wear that : how to look and feel fierce at any size
Hoy, Abby
Embrace your inner couture cutie and feel confident in wearing what you want and living out loud with these style tips and tricks from a plus-size, body-positive, and colorful content creator. Thank goodness in this modern era, we know that rocking a bikini or a pink power suit...
You don't own me : how Mattel v. MGA Entertainment exposed Barbie's dark side
Lobel, Orly
The battle between Mattel, the makers of the iconic Barbie doll, and MGA, the company that created the Bratz dolls, was not just a war over best-selling toys, but a war over who owns ideas. When Carter Bryant began designing what would become the billion-dollar line of Bratz dolls,...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.