Latine Voices for Kids

Updated September 28, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Tacos today
Raul the Third
"Outrageously creative! Kids will drink in every imaginative detail in El Toro's wild world!" --Jeff Kinney, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series From New York Times bestselling, three-time Pura Belpré Award-winning author-illustrator...
Mexikid : a graphic memoir
Martin, Pedro
NEWBERY HONOR AWARD WINNER * An unforgettable graphic memoir about a Mexican American boy's family and their adventure-filled road trip to bring their abuelito back from Mexico "One of those books that kids will pass to their friends as soon as they have finished it."-...
Battle of the bad-breath bats
Bowles, David
A new silly and spooky highly illustrated series that's perfect for fans of Eerie Elementary and Notebooks of Doom, featuring art on every page and fun activities at the end of each book. It's a Halloween chapter book treat! Cousins Malia, Ivan, and Dante are visiting...
Camila the soccer star
Salazar, Alicia
Camila is ready to be a soccer star, but her soccer team, Las Estrellas Fugaz, has lost three games in a row. When it comes to soccer, it takes teamwork to become stars. How will Camila and the other shooting stars come together to earn a win?
Reina Ramos meets a big puppy
Otheguy, Emma
In Reina Ramos Meets a BIG Puppy, Reina is embarrassed to admit she is afraid of a very big dog. This Level Two I Can Read story is perfect for social emotional learning! Reina Ramos is the creation of Emma Otheguy, a children's author who writes about Latin identity....
Twin cities
Pimienta, Jose
FOUR STARRED REVIEWS . A critically acclaimed graphic novel with rave reviews about this timely story featuring middle school twins living on the Mexico-US border and trying to discover exactly who they are - together or apart. "Transcendentally good."-Kirkus Reviews, starred...
The enchanted life of Valentina Mejaia
Alessandri, Alexandra
Encanto meets The Chronicles of Narnia by way of Colombian folklore in this middle grade fantasy adventure. To save their father's life, a brother and sister must journey across a land full of mythical creatures and find the most powerful and dangerous of them all: the madremonte.
Ghost squad
Ortega, Claribel A.
A New York Times bestseller! Coco meets Stranger Things with a hint of Ghostbusters in this action-packed supernatural fantasy. For Lucely Luna, ghosts are more than just the family business. Shortly before Halloween, Lucely...
Calling the Moon : 16 period stories from BIPOC authors
Salazar, Aida
An essential, highly relatable collection of short fiction and poems around the topic of menstruation, written exclusively by authors who are Black, Indigenous, and/or people of color For Angela, it came on the basketball court--while playing on the boys' team. For Penny, it came...
The chupacabras of the Río Grande
Gidwitz, Adam
Pura Belpre Honor-winning author David Bowles joins Newbery Honor-winning Adam Gidwitz as co-author of the newest Unicorn Rescue Society adventure, as the kids travel to the U.S.-Mexican border to help the legendary chupacabras. Elliot and Uchenna have only just returned from their most...
Witchlings
Ortega, Claribel A.
An instant New York Times Bestseller! Disney's The Owl House meets Nevermoor, in a brilliant adventure from Claribel A. Ortega! Every year, in the magical town of Ravenskill, Witchlings who participate in the Black Moon Ceremony are placed into covens and come into their...
Valentina Salazar is not a monster hunter
Co?rdova, Zoraida
"Monsters, mayhem, and a little family magic will have readers rooting for Valentina!" -- Kwame Mbalia, New York Times bestselling author It takes a special person to end up in detention on the last day of school. It takes a REALLY special person to accidentally burn down the...
Something like home
Arango, Andrea Beatriz
The Pura Belpré Honor winning novel in verse, in which a lost dog helps a lonely girl find a way home to her family . . . only for them to find family in each other along the way. From the Newbery Honor winning author of Iveliz Explains It All. "Trust me: this book will touch...
ChupaCarter
Lopez, George
With his signature laugh-out-loud humor, world-famous comedian George Lopez launches a magical series inspired by his own colorful childhood and Latinx folklore. In this illustrated contemporary fantasy, twelve-year-old Jorge is lonely and resentful after being sent to live with...
Tumble
Pérez, Celia C.
From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk and Strange Birds, a dazzling novel about a young girl who collects the missing pieces of her origin story from the family of legendary luchadores she's never met. A 2023 Pura Belpré Author Honor Book
Nuestra América : 30 inspiring latinas/latinos who have shaped the United States
Vourvoulias, Sabrina
Celebrate 30 influential Latinas/Latinos/Latinxs in U.S. history with Nuestra América, a fully-illustrated anthology from the Smithsonian Latino Center. Nuestra América highlights the inspiring stories of thirty Latina/o/xs...
Skeletina and the in-between world
Jaramillo, Susie
With a focus on nightmares, anxiety, and bravery, this series opener is perfect for fans of the hit movies Coco, Coraline, The Nightmare Before Christmas, and Slumberland. Welcome to the in-between world, where the living go when they are fast asleep and...
Chunky
Mercado, Yehudi
In this full-color middle grade graphic memoir for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft, Yehudi Mercado draws inspiration from his childhood struggle with his weight while finding friendship with his imaginary mascot, Chunky, as he navigates growing up in a working class Mexican...
Cece Rios and the desert of souls
Rivera, Kaela
When a powerful desert spirit kidnaps her sister, Cece Rios must learn forbidden magic to get her back, in this own voices middle grade fantasy perfect for fans of The Storm Runner and Aru Shah and the End of Time.  Living in the remote town of Tierra del Sol...
Sincerely Sicily
Burgess, Tamika
From debut author Tamika Burgess comes the captivating and empowering story of Sicily Jordan--a Black Panamanian fashionista who rocks her braids with pride--who learns to use her voice and take pride in who she is while confronting prejudice in the most unexpected of places. ...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.