Latine Voices for Young Teens

Updated September 2, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Aniana del Mar jumps in
Méndez, Jasminne
Pura Belpre Author Honor Award ** Four starred reviews!** A powerful and expertly told novel in verse about a twelve-year-old Dominican American swimmer who is diagnosed with Juvenile Arthritis by an award-winning poet. Aniana del Mar belongs in the water like...
Cuba in my pocket
Cuevas, Adrianna
From Pura Belpré Honoree Adrianna Cuevas is a sweeping, emotional middle grade historical novel about a twelve-year-old boy who leaves his family in Cuba to immigrate to the U.S. by himself, based on the author's family history. "I don't remember. Tell me everything,...
Falling short
Cisneros, Ernesto
Ernesto Cisneros, Pura Belpré Award-winning author of Efrén Divided, is back with a hilarious and heartfelt novel about two best friends who must rely on each other in unexpected ways. A great next pick for readers who loved Ghost by Jason Reynolds or The First Rule of Punk by Celia...
Farewell Cuba, mi isla
Diaz, Alexandra
Two starred reviews! "Perfect for fans of Margarita Engle and impactful historical fiction" (School Library Journal, starred review), this "evocative and transportive" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) middle grade novel follows two girls fleeing 1960 Cuba with...
Frizzy
Ortega, Claribel A.
Winner of the 2023 Pura Belpré Award for Children's Text Winner of the 2023 Eisner for Best Publication for Kids October 2022 Indie Bestseller New York Times-bestselling author Claribel A. Ortega and star debut artist Rose Bousamra's Frizzy is about...
The ghosts of Rancho Espanto
Cuevas, Adrianna
A new middle grade fantasy full of humor and heart from Adrianna Cuevas--author of the Pura Belpré Honor Book The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez--perfect for fans of Claribel Ortega's The Ghost Squad and Louis Sachar's Holes. ' Rafa would rather live...
Hands
Maldonado, Torrey
"Gorgeous and gripping, Hands is a poetic page-turner. You might just finish it in one sitting. Torrey Maldonado understands the kids he writes for at the deepest level." --Adam Gidwitz, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Inquisitor's Tale The author of What Lane?<...
Invisible
Gonzalez, Christina Diaz
A USA TODAY and Indie Bestseller! For fans of New Kid and Allergic, a must-have graphic novel about five very different students who are forced together by their school to complete community service... and may just have more in common than they thought. ...
Join the club, Maggie Diaz
Moreno, Nina (Young adult fiction writer)
This humorous and heartfelt middle-grade debut by Nina Moreno with illustrations by Courtney Lovett is perfect for fans of Celia C. Pérez and Terri Libenson, and any reader still deciding what their passion in life is. "MAYBE I'M GOOD AT SOMETHING I DON'T EVEN KNOW ABOUT YET." ...
The last beekeeper
Cartaya, Pablo
Facing a world dually altered by climate change and those who profit from it, Yolanda Cicerón will have to fight to save the last known beehive from extinction in this stirring new adventure by award-winning author Pablo Cartaya. In a future shaken by climate disasters,...
The last cuentista
Higuera, Donna Barba
Winner of the John Newbery Medal Winner of the Pura Belpré Award From Pura Belpré Award winner and Newbery Medalist, Donna Barba Higuera--a brilliant journey through the stars, to the very heart of what makes us...
Loteri?a
Valenti, Karla
The turn of a card could change your destiny in this captivating middle grade adventure based on the Loteria card game and perfect for fans of Coco. While searching for her missing cousin, a young girl is transported to a mythical kingdom, becoming entangled in a perilous game of chance....
Man?analand
Ryan, Pam Mun?oz
Newbery Honoree Pam Muñoz Ryan weaves an entrancing tale of courage and self-discovery.A Maximiliano Córdoba le encantan las historias, especialmente la leyenda que le cuenta Buelo sobre un mítico guardián que ayuda a los viajeros valientes de corazón puro en un viaje a la tierra del mañana...
Merci Suárez plays it cool
Medina, Meg
In a satisfying finale to her trilogy, Newbery Medalist Meg Medina follows Merci Suárez into an eighth-grade year full of changes--evolving friendships, new responsibilities, and heartbreaking loss. For Merci Suárez, eighth grade means a new haircut, nighttime football games, and...
Miss Quinces
Fajardo, Kat
Rising star Kat Fajardo's debut middle-grade graphic novel about a girl who would rather do anything other than celebrate her quinceañera! A funny and heartfelt coming-of-age story about navigating the expectations of family and cultural tradition. Sue just wants to spend the summer reading and...
Rima's rebellion : courage in a time of tyranny
Engle, Margarita
An inspiring coming-of-age story told in prose and "spare, lyrical" verse (The Horn Book Magazine) from award-winning author Margarita Engle about a girl falling in love for the first time while finding the courage to protest for women's right to vote in 1920s Cuba. Rima...
Sal and Gabi Break the Universe Sal and Gabi Series, Book 1
Hernandez, Carlos.
A seed in the sun
Salazar, Aida
**Four starred reviews!** A farm-working girl with big dreams meets activist Dolores Huerta and joins the 1965 protest for workers' rights in this tender-hearted novel in verse, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Pam Muñoz Ryan. Lula Viramontes aches to one...
Srta. Quinces
Fajardo, Kat
Rising star Kat Fajardo's debut middle-grade graphic novel about a girl who would rather do anything other than celebrate her quinceañera! Sue solo quiere pasar el verano leyendo y haciendo cómics en el campamento con sus amigos, pero en lugar de eso se embarca con sus padres y sus dos hermanas...
They call her Fregona : a border kid's poems
Bowles, David
A companion to the Pura Belpre Honor book They Call Me G ero "You can be my boyfriend." It only takes five words to change G ero's life at the end of seventh grade.The summer becomes extra busy as he learns to balance new band practice with his old crew, Los Bobbys, and...
The total eclipse of Nestor Lopez
Cuevas, Adrianna
2021 Pura Belpré Honor Book NYPL Best Book of 2020 2020 Evanston Public Library Great Books for Kids In this magical middle-grade debut novel from Adrianna Cuevas, The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez, a Cuban American boy must use his secret ability...
You only live once, David Bravo
Oshiro, Mark
From Mark Oshiro, award-winning author of The Insiders, this time-bending adventure is perfect for fans of Sal and Gabi Break the Universe and When You Reach Me. A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * An ALA Rainbow Book List Top 10 Selection Middle school is the worst,...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.