Fun, Not So Spooky Books for Kids!

It's almost Halloween and excitement is building‚??from little ones interested in pumpkins, costumes, and candy to older kids who like a little bit of a scare now and then, these Halloween books will help set a festive mood for the spooky holiday.

Updated September 28, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Coraline
Russell, P. Craig.
Neil Gaiman's enchanting, nationally bestselling children's book Coraline is brought to new life by acclaimed artist P. Craig Russell in this gorgeously illustrated graphic novel adaptation. When Coraline steps through a door to find another house strangely similar to her own (only...
Halloween crafts
Robinson, Fay.
Monsters peek out from doorways. Ghosts and skeletons gather in the streets. No, you're not living in a horror movie...it's Halloween, and everyone is getting ready to celebrate. Using these step-by-step instructions, photographs, and traceable patterns, readers can make a coffin to store treats in,...
Halloween rescue!
King, Trey
It's Halloween in LEGO(R) City! This 8x8 includes stickers! The fun never stops in LEGO(R) City--especially not at the fire station's Halloween Party! But when a fire threatens an abandoned home, will it be the ghosts and ghouls who help the fire department to save the day?
Happy Halloween!
Jaine, Lillian
Join the Count, Elmo, and all of their Sesame Street friends for spooktacular fun in this Halloween picture book for kids! It's Halloween night, and Count von Count is dozing off in front of his fireplace. Suddenly, he hears someone knocking at his castle door, but when he goes to open the...
Halloween origami
Owen, Ruth, 1967-
Bats, pumpkins, ghosts, and frogs are just some of the Halloween symbols featured in this informative guide. Readers will learn to transform a flat sheet of paper into something truly spooky. Easy-to-follow instructions allow readers to create a multitude of imaginative objects.
Weirdo Halloween
Stine, R. L.
Goosebumps now on Disney+!After a trip to HorrorLand, Meg and her brother, Chris, can't wait to celebrate Halloween. Until that Weirdo in the baby alien costume shows up and begins to wreak havoc on their lives. They just can't seem to get him to leave. And Meg's beginning to suspect...
LEGO Halloween ideas
March, Julia
Celebrate Halloween with 50 spooky build ideas! Use your LEGO¬ģ collection to conjure up a giant bat, a ghost ship, a witch's house, and many more creepy creations. Plus, challenge your friends to spooky LEGO games.¬† These Halloween-themed models and activities...
Hilarious Halloween jokes
Grambs, Alison.
Halloween turns into a frightfully funny holiday with this collection of monstrously amusing jokes, riddles, and knock-knocks. Not even the scariest spook will be able to resist a laugh, especially with such side-splitting illustrations increasing the fun. What do you call a meat-eating pumpkin...
Hidden pumpkins
Lewis, Anne Margaret.
Join in the search for Mr. Pumpkin, hidden in a haunted house, a pumpkin patch, a Halloween party and more.
Five little pumpkins on Sesame Street
Guendelsberger, Erin
Enjoy a special treat on Sesame Street with the Five Little Pumpkins in this new Halloween picture book for kids! Come along for a spooky night of Halloween fun with this adorable adaptation of the classic sing-along song "Five Little Pumpkins" with beloved Sesame Street characters! Join...
Pete the cat five little pumpkins
Dean, James, 1957- author, illustrator.
Author and artist James Dean brings us a groovy rendition of the classic favorite children's song "Five Little Pumpkins," sung by cool cat Pete and perfect for Halloween. A New York Times bestselling favorite! Pete the Cat: Five Little Pumpkins is in a sturdy paper-over...
Ghosts unveiled!
Hollihan, Kerrie Logan
Discover all the mysteries, facts, and discoveries about ghosts that are creepy--and true--in the much-anticipated companion to Mummies Exposed! Do you believe in ghosts? Whether you're a believer in things that go bump in the night or a firmly science-minded...
The thirteen ghosts
Bigarella, Ivan, ill.
This NEW Geronimo Stilton series spinoff stars spooky, silly Creepella von Cacklefur!Creepella von Cacklefur and her niece, Shivereen, visit scary Squeakspeare Mansion. There they meet Bobby Squeakspeare, a descendent of the famouse writer, William Squeakspeare. Will the spooky rooms and ghosts...
City of ghosts
Schwab, Victoria
From #1 NYT bestselling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of "Stranger Things" and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.A New York Times bestseller!Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn...
Candy corn poems
Stevenson, James, 1929-
Give yourself a treat. Open this book. Smile!An ALA Notable BookGive yourself a treat.Open this book.Smile!In these twenty-four subtly powerful poems (including a memorable ode to eating peanuts), James Stevenson transforms the ordinary into the extraordinary. This new collection, the third in a...
Deadman tells the spooky tales
Aureliani, Franco
Tag along with DC's favorite ghost host as he navigates the spooky, strange, and unexplained in this eerie 13-tale anthology! Have you ever had that feeling that you were being watched? Ever taken a dark shortcut on the way home? Wondered what that thing is that might just be...
Spooky snacks and treats frightfully fun Halloween recipes for kids
Williams, Zac
42 creepy, icky, sweet, or sticky kid-friendly recipes for Halloween parties and events. Make your Halloween party a scream with these creepily cool snacks, munchies, sweets, and drinks found in Spooky Snacks and Treats: Frightfully Fun Halloween Recipes for Kids. Zac...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.