Heists in fantasy

Impossible missions, high stakes prizes, rag-tag crews—in a fantasy setting.
Updated September 19, 2022
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The Hobbit
J. R. R. Tolkien
The stirring adventure that begins The Lord of the Rings, the greatest fantasy epic of all time When Thorin Oakenshield and his band of dwarves embark upon a dangerous quest to reclaim the hoard of gold stolen from them by the evil dragon Smaug, Gandalf the wizard suggests an...
Mistborn: The Final Empire
Brandon Sanderson
Now with over 10 million copies sold, The Mistborn Series has the thrills of a heist story, the twistiness of political intrigue, and the epic scale of a landmark fantasy saga. For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in...
The Lies of Locke Lamora
Scott Lynch
Fantasy meets crime caper in the first book of a landmark, enduringly popular epic series about a roguish group of conmen, which George R. R. Martin has called "fresh, original, and engrossing . . . gorgeously realized." An orphan's life is harsh--and often short--in the...
Six of Crows
Leigh Bardugo
See the Grishaverse come to life on screen with the Netflix series, Shadow and Bone -- Season 2 streaming now! Meet Kaz Brekker and his crew: Jesper, Inej, Wylan, and the star-crossed Nina and Matthias, on the heist of a lifetime in Six of Crows from #1...
A Darker Shade of Magic
V. E. Schwab
A Darker Shade of Magic, from #1 New York Times bestselling author V.E. Schwab Kell is one of the last Antari--magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel Londons; Red, Grey, White, and, once upon a time, Black. Kell was...
The Thief
Megan Whalen Turner
Discover and rediscover the world of the Queen's Thief, from the acclaimed novel The Thief to the thrilling, twenty-years-in-the-making conclusion, The Return of the Thief. The epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief can be read in any order. New York Times...
The Quantum Thief
Hannu Rajaniemi
The Quantum Thief is a Kirkus Reviews Best of 2011 Science Fiction & Fantasy title.One ofLibrary Journal's Best SF/Fantasy Books of 2011 Jean le Flambeur gets up in the morning and has to kill himself before his other self can kill him first. Just another day in...
Foundryside
Robert Jackson Bennett
"The exciting beginning of a promising new epic fantasy series. Prepare for ancient mysteries, innovative magic, and heart-pounding heists."--Brandon Sanderson "Complex characters, magic that is tech and vice versa, a world bound by warring trade dynasties: Bennett will leave...
The Gilded Wolves
Roshani Chokshi
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* First in a "wildly inventive and wildly representative" (The New York Times Book Review) historical fantasy series, Roshani Chokshi's The Gilded Wolves follows the exploits of a found family--six societal outcasts...
Clockwork Boys
T. Kingfisher
Slate is a thief who specialized in stealing, forging, and planting paperwork. When she is arrested for treason, she finds herself part of a suicide mission with Brenner the assassin and the disgraced paladin Caliban, once a demonslayer, now host to the dead remains of the demon which sent him on a...
Valour and Vanity
Mary Robinette Kowal
Acclaimed fantasist Mary Robinette Kowal has enchanted many fans with her beloved novels featuring a Regency setting in which magic--known here as glamour--is real. InValour and Vanity, master glamourists Jane and Vincent find themselves in the sort of a magical adventure that might result...
An Illusion of Thieves
Cate Glass
A ragtag crew with forbidden magic must pull off an elaborate heist and stop a civil war in An Illusion of Thieves, a fantasy adventure from Cate Glass. In Cantagna, being a sorcerer is a death sentence. Romy escapes her hardscrabble upbringing when...
Among Thieves
M. J. Kuhn
INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER A thrilling fantasy debut--a high-stakes heist novel set in a gritty world of magic and malice, and perfect for fans of Six of Crows! In just over a year's time, Ryia Cautella has already earned herself a reputation as the...
The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn
Tyler Whitesides
"Mission Impossible, but with magic, dragons, and a series of heists that go from stealing a crown to saving the world" (David Dalglish). Master con artist Ardor Benn and his crew of intrepid thieves are hired to pull off a series of wildly complex...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.