Boarding School Books for Teens

Teen reads about or set in boarding school.
Updated October 2, 2022
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Truly Devious
Maureen Johnson
New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart. Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers,...
XOXO
Axie Oh
Jenny's never had much time for boys, K-pop, or really anything besides her dream of being a professional cellist. But when she finds herself falling for a K-pop idol, she has to decide whether their love is worth the risk. A modern forbidden romance wrapped in the glamorous and...
S.T.A.G.S.
M.A. Bennett
"Gossip Girl meets The Hunger Games." --Bustle "Like Mean Girls, but British and deadly. . . . This book is great, from start to finish." --Hypable  Get ready for one deadly weekend in this twisting thriller for fans of ...
The Queen's Rising
Rebecca Ross
In this epic debut fantasy by the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divine Rivals, an outcast finds herself bound to a disgraced lord and entangled in his plot to overthrow the king. Perfect for fans of Grave Mercy and Red Queen! Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion...
When the Ground Is Hard
Malla Nunn
Edgar Award nominee stuns in this heartrending tale set in a Swaziland boarding school where two girls of different castes bond over a shared copy of Jane Eyre. Adele Joubert loves being one of the popular girls at Keziah Christian Academy. She knows the upcoming semester...
A Study in Charlotte
Brittany Cavallaro
The first book in a witty, suspenseful new series about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter. Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte...
On the Jellicoe Road
Melina Marchetta
Winner of the Michael L. Printz Award * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * Kirkus Best Book Jellicoe Road is a dazzling tale that is part love story, part family drama, and part coming-of-age novel. Described by Kirkus as "a beautifully rendered mystery" and by VOYA as "a great choice for...
The Year After You
Nina de Pass
"I love this sad, beautiful, hopeful book." --Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and How to Make Friends With the Dark For fans of Nina LaCour and Jennifer Niven, a richly layered novel that's both uplifting and heartbreaking,...
Slingshot
Mercedes Helnwein
"Helnwein debuts in striking fashion... The writing, especially the dialogue, is magnetic, honest, and brimming with caustic wit... [an] enrapturing take on the intense highs and lows of teenage love." --Booklist (Starred Review) "Wildly real and...
Ace of Spades
Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Ãebíké-Ãyímídé about two students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully. All you need to know is . . . I'm here to...
The Ivies
Alexa Donne
Enroll in this boarding school thriller about a group of prep school elites who would kill to get into the college of their dreams...literally. "The Plastics meet the Heathers in this murder mystery about ruthless Ivy League ambition." -Kirkus Reviews ...
And Both Were Young
Madeleine L'Engle
Flip doesn't think shell ever fit in at the Swiss boarding school.  Besides being homesick for her father and Connecticut, she isn't sophisticated like the other girls, and discussions about boys leave her tongue-tied.  Her happiest times are spent apart from the others, sketching or wandering in...
Love, Jacaranda
Alex Flinn
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Beastly, Alex Flinn, comes a new contemporary novel about one girl's journey to find her voice and let love in. "A delicious bonbon of a love story."--New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Nancy Werlin ...
Don't Breathe a Word
Jordyn Taylor
"A fast-paced, exhilarating story about a boarding school shrouded in secrecy and the girl who will do anything to right the institution's wrongs." --Jessica Goodman, Indiebound bestselling author of They Wish They Were Us Critically acclaimed author Jordyn Taylor weaves an...
Carry On
Rainbow Rowell
#1 New York Times best seller! Booklist Editors' Choice 2015 - Youth! Named a "Best Book of 2015" by Time Magazine, School Library Journal, Barnes & Noble, NPR, PopSugar, The Millions, and The News & Observer! Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One...
Winger
Andrew Smith
A teen at boarding school grapples with life, love, and rugby in a heartbreakingly funny novel. Ryan Dean West is a fourteen-year-old junior at a boarding school for rich kids. He's living in Opportunity Hall, the dorm for troublemakers, and rooming with the biggest bully on the...
We Set the Dark on Fire
Tehlor Kay Mejia
"We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright. It will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers." --NPR "Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality." --Buzzfeed Five starred reviews!! In...
The Chandler Legacies
Abdi Nazemian
From the Stonewall Honor-winning author of Like a Love Story comes a revelatory novel about the enclosed world of privilege and silence at an elite boarding school and the unlikely group of friends who dare to challenge the status quo through their writing. Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart,...
Very Bad People
Kit Frick
First editions have an exclusive foil design underneath the jacket! "A twisty, deeply satisfying ride." --Sara Shepard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Little Liars In this dark academia young adult thriller for fans of The Female of the...
The Deceivers (Vale Hall)
Kristen Simmons
Kristen Simmons, the author of the Article 5 series and Metaltown, brings her remarkable imagination to this intrigue-filled contemporary drama where good kids are needed to do some very bad things in The Deceivers. An Anthony Award Nominee for Best Young...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.