Election Fiction for Teens

Books involving elections, political candidates, and even rivalries.
Updated October 2, 2022
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Most Likely
Sarah Watson
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold Type comes an empowering and heartfelt novel about a future female president's senior year of high school. Ava, CJ, Jordan, and Martha (listed in alphabetical order out of fairness)have been friends since...
The Voting Booth
Brandy Colbert
Marva Sheridan was born ready for this day. She's always been driven to make a difference in the world, and what better way than to vote in her first election? Duke Crenshaw is so done with this election. He just wants to get voting over with so he can prepare for his band's first...
The Wrong Side of Right
Jenn Marie Thorne
Fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Jenny Han, and Meg Cabot will adore this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries--plus a dash of The West Wing Kate Quinn's mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So...
Running
Natalia Sylvester
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz's father runs for president, Mari starts to see him with new eyes. A novel about waking up and standing up, and what happens when you stop seeing your dad as your hero--while the whole country is watching. In this authentic, humorous,...
Yes No Maybe So
Becky Albertalli
PRAISE FOR AISHA SAEED Amal Unbound A New York Times Bestseller "Saeed''s eloquent, suspenseful, eye-opening tale offers a window into the contemporary practice of indentured servitude and makes a compelling case for the power of girls''...
The State of Us
Shaun David Hutchinson
"Dre and Dean have got my vote!"--Adib Khorram, award-winning author of Darius the Great Is Not Okay When Dean Arnault's mother decided to run for president, it wasn't a surprise to anyone, least of all her son. But still that doesn't mean Dean wants to be part of the public...
You Say It First
Katie Cotugno
An addictive, irresistible YA novel about two teens from different worlds who fall for each other after a voter registration call turns into a long-distance romance--from Katie Cotugno, the New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days. Perfect for fans of Mary H.K. Choi, Robin...
Hope Was Here
Joan Bauer
Readers fell in love with teenage waitress Hope Yancey when Joan Bauer’s Newbery Honor–winning novel was published ten years ago. Now, with a terrific new jacket and note from the author, Hope’s story will inspire a new group of teen readers.
Your Own Worst Enemy
Gordon Jack
For fans of Andrew Smith and Frank Portman and the movies Election and Ferris Bueller's Day Off comes a hilarious and satirical novel about the highs and (very low) lows of the electoral process, proving that the popular vote is the one that matters most. Stacey Wynn was the...
Sources say
Lori Goldstein
At Acedia High School outside of Boston, student council has always been nothing more than a popularity contest. Nobody pays attention. Nobody cares. But all that changes when the Frankengirls show up. During the very first week of school, someone plasters the halls with Photoshopped...
Prez Volume 1: Corndog in Chief
Mark Russell
America's first teenaged president is on the job in this contemporary twist on a DC classic! Oregon teen Beth Ross has just been elected President of the United States of America. Age restrictions were abolished when corporations gained the right to run for office and voting booths have been...
The Perfect Candidate
Peter Stone
From debut author Peter Stone comes a heart-stopping, pulse-pounding political thriller that's perfect for fans of Ally Carter and House of Cards. When recent high school graduate Cameron Carter lands an internship with Congressman Billy Beck in Washington, DC, he thinks...
Red, White & Royal Blue
Casey McQuiston
* Instant NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY bestseller * * GOODREADS CHOICE AWARD WINNER for BEST DEBUT and BEST ROMANCE of 2019 * * BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR* for VOGUE, NPR, VANITY FAIR, and more! * What happens when America's First Son falls in love with the...
Election
Tom Perrotta
A suburban New Jersey high school teacher confronts a student-body election gone haywire in this darkly comic novel by the author of The Wishbones. Scheduled for release as a feature film in 1998, starring Matthew Broderick. Who really cares who gets elected President of Winwood High School?...
May the Best Man Win
Z. R. Ellor
A trans boy enters a throw-down battle for the title of Homecoming King with the boy he dumped last summer in ZR Ellor's contemporary YA debut. Jeremy Harkiss, cheer captain and student body president, won't let coming out as a transgender boy ruin his senior year. Instead of...
You Should See Me in a Crown
Leah Johnson
A TIME Magazine Best YA Book of All Time A Stonewall Honor Book A Reese's Book Club YA Pick Liz Lighty has always believed she's too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom-obsessed midwestern town. But it's okay -- Liz has a...
The President's Daughter
Ellen Emerson White
Sixteen-year-old Meghan Powers likes her life just the way it is. She likes living in Massachusetts. She likes her school. And she has plenty of friends. But all that is about to change. Because Meg's mother, one of the most prestigious senators in the country, is running for President. And she's...
I am a Genius of Unspeakable Evil and I Want to be Your Class President
Josh Lieb
Twelve-year-old evil genius, Oliver, uses his great brain to become the third richest person in the world, and finds that overthrowing foreign dictators is easier than getting the kids in his middle school to vote him class president.
As If Being 12 3/4 Isn't Bad Enough, My Mother Is Running for President!
Donna Gephart
As if being 12 3/4 isn’t bad enough, Vanessa Rothrock’s mother is running for president and it’s ruining her life. Isn’t it enough that her enormous feet trip her up all the time, even on stage during the school spelling bee? Isn’t it enough that Reginald Trumball, love...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.