Indie Next List

Recent movers and shakers in Indie Next List.
Updated May 11, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Funny Story
Emily Henry
AN INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! Named a Most Anticipated book of 2024 by TIME ∙ The New York Times ∙ Goodreads ∙ Entertainment Weekly ∙ Today.com ∙ Paste ∙ SheReads ∙ BookPage ∙...
The Demon of Unrest: A Saga of Hubris, Heartbreak, and Heroism at the Dawn of the Civil War
Erik Larson
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * The author of The Splendid and the Vile brings to life the pivotal five months between the election of Abraham Lincoln and the start of the Civil War--a simmering crisis that finally tore a deeply divided nation in two. A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF...
Real Americans
Rachel Khong
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * READ WITH JENNA'S MAY BOOK CLUB PICK * From the award-winning author of Goodbye, Vitamin: How far would you go to shape your own destiny? An exhilarating novel of American identity that spans three generations in one family and asks: What makes us...
The Paradise Problem
Christina Lauren
Christina Lauren, the instant New York Times bestselling and "reigning romance queens" (PopSugar), returns with a delicious new romance between the buttoned-up heir of a grocery chain and his free-spirited artist ex as they fake their relationship in order to receive a massive...
Summers at the Saint: A Novel
Mary Kay Andrews
"Andrews perfectly balances the second chance-romance with the twisty mystery against a beachy backdrop that will please any armchair traveler." --Publishers Weekly "A fun, heart-warming, and intriguing summer read. For readers who'd enjoy a blend of friendships (old and new),...
Every Time I Go on Vacation, Someone Dies
Catherine Mack
A USA Today Bestseller #1 Toronto Star Bestseller in Canadian FictionA Globe and Mail Bestseller in Canadian Fiction A Vancouver Sun Bestseller in New Releases An Indie Next List Pick (May 2024) An...
Miss Morgan's Book Brigade: A Novel
Janet Skeslien Charles
USA TODAY BESTSELLER The New York Times and internationally bestselling author of the "captivating, richly drawn" (Woman's World) The Paris Library returns with a brilliant new novel based on the true story of Jessie Carson--the American librarian...
The Ministry of Time
Kaliane Bradley
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK * "This summer's hottest debut." --Cosmopolitan * "Witty, sexy escapist fiction [that] packs a substantial punch...It's a smart, gripping work that's also a feast for the senses...Fresh and thrilling." --Los Angeles...
All Fours
Miranda July
The New York Times bestselling author returns with an irreverently sexy, tender, hilarious and surprising novel about a woman upending her life"A frank novel about a midlife awakening, which is funnier and more boldly human than you ever quite expect....the...
A Letter to the Luminous Deep
Sylvie Cathrall
An Amazon Best Book of April 2024 * An IndieNext Pick  A charming fantasy set in an underwater world with magical academia and a heartwarming penpal romance, perfect for fans of Emily Wilde's Encylopaedia of Faeries and The...
Ocean's Godori: A Novel
Elaine U. Cho
An Indie Next Pick * An Amazon Editors' Pick * Most Anticipated by Barnes & Noble, Lit Hub, Debutiful, and Gizmodo Becky Chambers meets Firefly in this big-hearted Korean space opera debut about a disgraced space pilot struggling to find her place while...
Colton Gentry's Third Act: A Novel
Jeff Zentner
Recommended by The TODAY Show, this "story of love, healing, and second chances " (Emily Henry) from an award-winning author follows a down on his luck country musician who, in the throes of grief after a shocking loss, moves back home and rekindles a relationship with his high school sweetheart....
Bite by Bite
Aimee Nezhukumatathil
From the New York Times bestselling author of World of Wonders, a lyrical book of short essays about food offering a banquet of tastes, smells, memories, associations, and little-known facts about nature In Bite by Bite, poet and essayist Aimee Nezhukumatathil explores the...
888 Love and the Divine Burden of Numbers: A Novel
Abraham Chang
Goodreads Editor's Pick * Publishers Weekly Author to Watch "Packed with pop culture.... A beautifully tender and funny examination of love, of identity, of making your way in a world that is getting bigger and smaller at the same time." --Kevin Wilson,...
Sipsworth
Simon Van Booy
Over the course of two weeks in a small English town, a reclusive widow discovers an unexpected reason to live. Following the loss of her husband and son, Helen Cartwright returns to the village of her childhood after living abroad for six decades. Her only wish is to die...
Whale Fall: A Novel
Elizabeth O'Connor
A stunning debut from an award-winning writer, about loss, isolation, folklore, and the joy and dissonance of finding oneself by exploring life outside one's community "Both blunt and exquisite . . . O'Connor's excellent debut . . .  is an example of precisely observed writing...
The Z Word
Lindsay King-Miller
"Sexy, scathing, delightful, and intimately devastating."--Gretchen Felker-Martin, author of Manhunt and Cuckoo Packed with action, humor, sex, and big gay feelings, The Z Word is the queer zombie romp you didn't know you needed. Chaotic...
The Paris Novel
Ruth Reichl
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A "mouthwatering" (The New York Times) adventure through the food, art, and fashion scenes of 1980s Paris--from the bestselling author of Save Me the Plums and Delicious! "An enchanting and irresistible feast . . . As with a...
Long Island: A Novel
Colm Tóibín
OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK * Named a Most Anticipated Book by The New York Times, The Washington Post, Financial Times, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), Good Housekeeping, AARP, and more * From the beloved, critically acclaimed New York...
Loneliness & Company
Charlee Dyroff
A timely, beautifully observed debut novel set in near future New York about a young woman who finds herself tangled in a secret Government project combating loneliness. Lee knows she's the best. A professor favorite and fellowship winner, there's no doubt she'll land one of...
Woodworm
Layla Martínez
The house breathes. The house contains bodies and secrets. The house is visited by ghosts, by angels that line the roof like insects, and by saints that burn the bedsheets with their haloes. It was built by a smalltime hustler as a
Darling Girls
Sally Hepworth
SISTERS, SECRETS, LOVE, AND MURDER... Sally Hepworth's new novel has it all. For as long as they can remember, Jessica, Norah, and Alicia have been told how lucky they are. As young girls they were rescued from family tragedies and raised by a loving foster mother, Miss...
Death Valley
Melissa Broder
Named a Best Book of 2023 by The New York Times ("incandescent...hilarious...a triumph"), Oprah Daily ("surreal, absurd, lucid, and wise"), Vanity Fair ("Broder [is] a genius and a sorceress"), and more! From the visionary author of Milk Fed...
How to Read a Book: A Novel
Monica Wood
"The perfect pick to really light a fire under my book club, and yours....A reminder that goodness, and books, can still win in this world." --New York Times Book Review "A beautiful, big-hearted treasure of a novel." --Lily King From the award-winning author of The One-in...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.