New Adult Literature

Our new Curated Collection - New Adult Literature - is for readers aged 18+. This collection is an emerging sub-genre of literature marketed for readers in their late teens and early twenties who are all often missing from the pages of both Young Adult and Adult books. New Adult books (NA) explore many themes, including the transition from late adolescence to adulthood. They're considered the next step after young adult fiction and they're typically aimed towards readers aged 18-25.

Updated June 17, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Player Piano
Vonnegut, Kurt
Paper Book
"A funny, savage appraisal of a totally automated American society of the future."--San Francisco Chronicle Kurt Vonnegut's first novel spins the chilling tale of engineer Paul Proteus, who must find a way to live in a world dominated by a supercomputer and run...
Heart Bones
Hoover, Colleen.
Paper Book
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of It Ends with Us and It Starts with Us! Moving, passionate, and unforgettable, Colleen Hoover's novel follows two young adults from completely different backgrounds embarking on a tentative romance, unaware of what...
Slaughterhouse 5: The Children's Crusade a Duty-Dance with Death
Vonnegut, Kurt
Paper Book
Kurt Vonnegut's masterpiece, Slaughterhouse-Five is "a desperate, painfully honest attempt to confront the monstrous crimes of the twentieth century" (Time).   Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best novels of all time * One of The...
My Dark Vanessa
Russell, Kate Elizabeth
Paper Book
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER  "[An] exceedingly complex, inventive, resourceful examination of harm and power." --The New York Times Book Review, Editors' Choice "A lightning rod . . . brilliantly crafted."--The Washington Post Recommended by The New York Times...
Vinegar girl : the taming of the Shrew retold
Tyler, Anne.
Paper Book
Pulitzer Prize winner and American master Anne Tyler brings us an inspired, witty and irresistible contemporary take on one of Shakespeare's most beloved comedies   Kate Battista feels stuck. How did she end up running house and home for her eccentric scientist father and uppity,...
Sweetbitter
Danler, Stephanie
Paper Book
INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER  *  A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.  Perfect for readers of...
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas
Thompson, Hunter S.
Ebook
50th Anniversary Edition * With an introduction by Caity Weaver, acclaimed New York Times journalist This cult classic of gonzo journalism is the best chronicle of drug-soaked, addle-brained, rollicking good times ever committed to the printed page.  It is...
The Outsider
Albert Camus; Sandra Smith
Paper Book
Through the story of an ordinary man unwittingly drawn into a senseless murder on an Algerian beach, Camus explored what he termed "the nakedness of man faced with the absurd." First published in 1946; now in a new translation by Matthew Ward.
The virgin suicides
Eugenides, Jeffrey
Paper Book
This beautiful and sad first novel, recently adapted for a major motion picture, tells of a band of teenage sleuths who piece together the story of a twenty-year old family tragedy begun by the youngest daughter's spectacular demise by self-defenstration, which inaugurates 'the year of the suicides....
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: 40th Anniversary Edition
Pirsig, Robert
Paper Book
THE CLASSIC BOOK THAT HAS INSPIRED MILLIONS A penetrating examination of how we live and how to live better Few books transform a generation and then establish themselves as touchstones for the generations that follow. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance is one such book. This...
Timequake
Vonnegut, Kurt
Paper Book
After the universe decides to back up ten years and all humans must live through the 1990s again, author Kurt Vonnegut finds himself trying to write a book called Timequake, which he knows he will never finish since he already did not finish it.
A River of Golden Bones
Mulford, A. K.
Paper Book
From bestselling author of the romantasy sensation The High Mountain Court comes A River of Golden Bones, the first riveting, enchanting novel in an all-new romantic fantasy shifter trilogy, which begins a journey of self-discovery, romance, and adventure for a young heir as she/they comes...
On the road
Kerouac, Jack
Paper Book
The legendary novel of freedom and the search for authenticity that defined a generation, now in a striking new Pengiun Classics Deluxe Edition  Inspired by Jack Kerouac's adventures with Neal Cassady, On the Road tells the story of two friends whose cross-country...
The Pumpkin Spice Café
Gilmore, Laurie.
Ebook
A spicy small-town romance and TikTok phenomenon, perfect for fans of Hannah Grace and Stephanie Archer. 'This is everything I love! Cozy small town romance, fall vibes, coffee house vibes, and grumpy x sunshine trope that was done perfectly!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐&...
The Pumpkin Spice Café
Gilmore, Laurie.
Ebook
A spicy small-town romance and TikTok phenomenon, perfect for fans of Hannah Grace and Stephanie Archer. 'This is everything I love! Cozy small town romance, fall vibes, coffee house vibes, and grumpy x sunshine trope that was done perfectly!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐&...
Codename Charming A Novel
Parker, Lucy.
Ebook
A New York Times Books Review Best Romances of 2023 pick Following Battle Royal, beloved author Lucy Parker pens another delicious romantic comedy about a fake relationship between a grumpy royal bodyguard and the charming, sunny assistant who melts his cold, hard exterior. ...
Cleopatra and Frankenstein
Mellors, Coco
Paper Book
The smash National bestseller and Goodreads Choice Award finalist--perfect for readers of Modern Lovers and Conversations with Friends. An addictive, humorous, and poignant debut novel about the shock waves caused by one couple's impulsive marriage. Twenty...
There's no such thing as an easy job
Tsumura, Kikuko
Paper Book
"[A] 21st-century response to Herman Melville's 'Bartleby, the Scrivener.'"--NPR "A revelation."--Time A young woman walks into an employment agency and requests a job that has the following traits: it is close to her home, and it requires no...
Breakfast of Champions
Vonnegut, Kurt
Paper Book
"Marvelous . . . [Vonnegut] wheels out all the complaints about America and makes them seem fresh, funny, outrageous, hateful and lovable."--The New York Times In Breakfast of Champions, one of Kurt Vonnegut's most beloved characters, the aging writer Kilgore Trout,...
Ishmael A Novel
Quinn, Daniel.
Ebook
One of the most beloved and bestselling novels of spiritual adventure ever published, Ishmael has earned a passionate following. This special twenty-fifth anniversary edition features a new foreword and afterword by the author.   "A thoughtful, fearlessly low-key...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.