Black Voices & Culture: Books for Kids

How about celebrating Black History Month by reading a title by a Black author that is new to you? And, keep reading Black books all year long! Black books matter. From learning to read to reading to learn, all kids need books that reflect their own lived experience, as well as books that depict a multiplicity of cultures, skin colors, and points of view.

Updated January 10, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
An American story
Alexander, Kwame
A Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award Book A 2023 New York Times Best Children's Book A 2023 Publisher's Weekly Best Picture Book An NPR Best Book of the Year #1 New York Times Bestselling and...
Amari and the night brothers
Alston, B. B.
New York Times bestseller! Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this exhilarating debut middle grade fantasy, the first in a series filled with #blackgirlmagic. Perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor. Amari Peters has...
All aboard the schooltrain : a little story from the Great Migration
Armand, Glenda
"Schooltrain! Schooltrain! Don't be late! The school bell rings at half past eight!" This tender family story, inspired by the author's own, illuminates a dynamic chapter in American history known as the Great Migration -- and the many trains people rode toward freedom.<...
That flag
Brown, Tameka Fryer
An affecting picture book from Tameka Fryer Brown and #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Nikkolas Smith (The 1619 Project: Born on the Water) that challenges the meaning behind the still-waving Confederate flag through the friendship of two young girls who...
Ketanji Brown Jackson : a justice for all
Charles, Tami
Discover the incredible story of Justice Ketanji Brown Jackson, who followed her childhood dream of becoming a lawyer and eventually became the first Black woman to sit on the US Supreme Court in this picture book biography. After 232 years and 115 appointments, Ketanji Onyika...
Swim team
Christmas, Johnnie
"Combines wonderful characters and history to create a story that will make you want to dive right in!" JERRY CRAFT, author of the Newbery Medal-winning New Kid A splashy, contemporary middle grade graphic novel from bestselling comics creator Johnnie Christmas! Bree can't wait for...
Being Clem
Cline-Ransome, Lesa
The final novel in the award-winning Finding Langston trilogy from Coretta Scott King Author Honoree and Scott O'Dell Award medalist Lesa Cline-Ransome. Clem can make anybody, even his grumpy older sisters, smile with his jokes. But when his family receives news that his father...
Loud and proud : the life of Congresswoman Shirley Chisholm
Cline-Ransome, Lesa
Three starred reviews! "History shines" (School Library Journal, starred review) in this inspirational, "vibrantly colored, boisterous, and well-paced" (Booklist, starred review) picture book biography of trailblazer Shirley Chisholm, the first African American...
J.D. and the great barber battle
Dillard, J.
Eight-year-old J.D. turns a tragic home haircut into a thriving barber business in this hilarious new illustrated chapter book series J.D. has a big problem--it's the night before the start of third grade and his mom has just given him his first and worst home haircut. When the...
Dragons in a bag
Elliott, Zetta
The dragon's out of the bag in this diverse, young urban fantasy from an award-winning author! When Jaxon is sent to spend the day with a mean old lady his mother calls Ma, he finds out she's not his grandmother--but she is a witch! She needs his help delivering...
Maya and the robot
Ewing, Eve L.
From award-winning author Eve L. Ewing comes an illustrated middle grade novel about a forgotten homemade robot who comes to life just when aspiring fifth-grade scientist Maya needs a friend -- and a science fair project. Maya's nervous about fifth grade. She tries to keep calm...
Not an easy win
Giles, Chrystal D.
FOUR STARRED REVIEWS! Twelve-year old Lawrence is new to chess--can he find a way to get on the board, even though the odds are stacked against him? Find out in this powerful novel about family, forgiveness, and figuring out who you are when you don't make the rules-just right...
Garvey's choice : the graphic novel
Grimes, Nikki
Award-winning author Nikki Grimes's beloved novel in verse Garvey's Choice is now a graphic novel, imaginatively and dramatically illustrated by Little Shaq artist Theodore Taylor III.  Garvey's father has always wanted Garvey to be athletic, but Garvey is...
A walk in the woods
Grimes, Nikki
In this moving account of loss, a boy takes a walk in the woods and makes a discovery that changes his understanding of his father. week after the funeral I stare in the morning mirror Angry that my father's eyes Stare back at me.
Ophie's ghosts
Ireland, Justina
Winner of the 2001 Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction The New York Times bestselling author of Dread Nation makes her middle grade debut with a sweeping tale of the ghosts of our past that won't stay buried, starring an unforgettable girl named Ophie. ...
Playing the cards you're dealt
Johnson, Varian
"With a deft hand, Johnson shows us there's no such thing as "too young" when it comes to questioning big ideas like manhood, or even family." -Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling author of Look Both Ways and Stamped Literary powerhouse and Coretta...
Choosing brave : how Mamie Till-Mobley and Emmett Till sparked the civil rights movement
Joy, Angela
A Caldecott-honor winning picture book biography of the mother of Emmett Till, and how she channeled grief over her son's death into a call to action for the civil rights movement. Mamie Till-Mobley is the mother of Emmett Till, the 14-year-old boy who was brutally murdered...
You gotta meet Mr. Pierce! : the storied life of folk artist Elijah Pierce
Lee, Chiquita Mullins
A picture book biography about the barber shop of woodcarver Elijah Pierce, recipient of the highest folk art honor in the United States. "Creeeeak!" goes the screen door to self-taught artist Elijah Pierce's barbershop art studio. A young boy walks in for an ordinary...
Freewater
Luqman-Dawson, Amina
Winner of the John Newbery Medal Winner of the Coretta Scott King Author Award  An Indiebound Bestseller A New York Times Bestseller Award-winning author Amina Luqman-Dawson pens a lyrical,...
Camp-out
Lyons, Kelly Starling
Ty makes his I Can Read Comic debut! Featuring a bold comic styling by New York Times bestselling illustrator Niña Mata and a compelling easy-to-read text by Kelly Starling Lyons, this Level One I Can Read Comic is the perfect summertime story for beginning readers! ...
Rock star
Lyons, Kelly Starling
Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy engaging with science-loving Jada Jones in this easy-to-read chapter book. When Jada Jones's best friend moves away, school feels like the last place she wants to be. She'd much rather wander outside looking for cool rocks to add...
Whiz kid
Lyons, Kelly Starling
From the award-winning author of the Jada Jones chapter books comes an illustrated spinoff series perfect for STEM fans! Miles Lewis has been waiting forever to be part of a city-wide science competition. Now his dream is finally coming true, and he's even part of an all-star...
From the desk of Zoe Washington
Marks, Janae
#1 Kids Indie Next List * Parents Magazine Best Book of the Year * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book of the Year * SLJ Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * Junior Library Guild Selection * Edgar Award Nominee * Four Starred Reviews * Bank Street Best...
Black boy joy
Mbalia, Kwame
THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER. FIVE STARRED REVIEWS Celebrate the joys of Black boyhood with stories from seventeen bestselling, critically acclaimed Black authors-including Jason Reynolds, Jerry Craft, and Kwame Mbalia. ★"Pick up Black Boy Joy...
Loretta Little looks back : three voices go tell it : a monologue novel
Pinkney, Andrea Davis
From a bestselling and award-winning husband and wife team comes an innovative, beautifully illustrated novel that delivers a front-row seat to the groundbreaking moments in history that led to African Americans earning the right to vote. "Right here, I'm sharing the honest-to...
Just Jerry : how drawing shaped my life
Pinkney, Jerry
An inspiring memoir of a Caldecott-winning artist and one of the most acclaimed children's book illustrators of all time, sharing the story of a young artist who finds the courage to follow his passion against all odds. * "A moving work from a...
Link + Hud : heroes by a hair
Pumphrey, Jarrett
Lincoln and Hudson Dupré are brothers with what grown-ups call "active imaginations." Link and Hud hunt for yetis in the Himalayas and battle orcs on epic quests. Unfortunately, their imaginary adventures wreak havoc in their real world. Dr. and Mrs. Dupré have tried every babysitter in the...
Stuntboy, in the meantime
Reynolds, Jason
A Schneider Family Award Honor Book for Middle Grade From Newbery Medal honoree and #1 New York Times bestselling author Jason Reynolds comes a hilarious, hopeful, and action-packed middle grade novel about the greatest young superhero you've never heard of, filled with...
Root magic
Royce, Eden
"A poignant, necessary entry into the children's literary canon, Root Magic brings to life the history and culture of Gullah people while highlighting the timeless plight of Black Americans. Add in a fun, magical adventure and you get everything I want in a book!" --Justina Ireland, New York...
Clean getaway
Stone, Nic
From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds. How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma: -...
Jerry changed the game! : how engineer Jerry Lawson revolutionized video games forever
Tate, Don
Junior Library Guild Selection | Eureka! Excellence in Nonfiction Honor | CBC Best STEM Book List | Mathical Book Prize Honor | BCALA Youth Literary Nonfiction Award | Communication Arts Illustration Shortlist Meet Jerry Lawson, the Black engineer who revolutionized the video...
Ways to make sunshine
Watson, Rene?e
From Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winner Renée Watson comes the first book in a young middle grade series about Ryan Hart, a girl who is pure spirit, kindness, and sunshine. Ryan Hart has a lot on her mind--school, self-image, and especially family. Her...
How do you spell unfair? : MacNolia Cox and the National Spelling Bee
Weatherford, Carole Boston
A Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book "This moving picture book portrays a girl who met injustice with dignity and excelled."--Booklist (starred review) From a multi-award-winning pair comes a deeply affecting portrait of...
Lotus Bloom and the Afro Revolution
Winston, Sherri
Longlisted for the National Book Award for Young People's Literature Member of the 2023 Notable Books for a Global Society (NGBS) List From the beloved author of President of the Whole Fifth Grade, a story about a young Black girl who summons the...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.