Asian and Pacific Islander Voices: Books for Kids

Updated April 18, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
A spoonful of time
Ahn, Flora
"Full of twists, this middle grade story is a heartwarming mix of food and family."-Kirkus Reviews When You Reach Me meets Love Sugar Magic in this unforgettable middle grade novel where time travel, family recipes, and family secrets collide. ...
Awesome Asian Americans : 20 stars who made America amazing
Amara, Philip
Enjoy the best children's anthology of noteworthy Asian Americans. This compelling collection features 20 profiles with 60 action-packed, color illustrations. It's about time - rebel girls, rad women, little leaders, and great guys are Asian American too!Readers will...
Shining a light : celebrating 40 Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders who changed the world
Bybee, Veeda
A collective biography of 40 influential Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, from Kalpana Chawla to The Rock to Tammy Duckworth, whose historical contributions readers may not know but whose light shines on, with stunning illustrated portraits by Hugo Award nominee Victo Ngai.<...
Geraldine Pu and her lunchbox, too!
Chang, Maggie P.
Meet spunky, funny, and friendly Geraldine Pu as she takes on a bully and makes a new friend in this first book in a new Level 3 Ready-to-Read Graphics series! Geraldine Pu's favorite part of school is lunch. She loves her lunch box, which she calls Biandang. She can't wait to...
The story of Olympic swimmer Duke Kahanamoku
Crowe, Ellie
Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature - Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA) This entry in the innovative "Story" line of chapter-book biographies focuses on Duke Kahanamoku, the six-time Olympic swimming champion and a legendary surfer who popularized surfing...
We are here : 30 inspiring Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders who have shaped the United States
Hirahara, Naomi
A stunning anthology licensed in partnership with the Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center, We Are Here celebrates 30 of the most inspiring Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in U.S. history.  There are more than...
American as paneer pie
Kelkar, Supriya
An Indian American girl navigates prejudice in her small town and learns the power of her own voice in this brilliant gem of a middle grade novel full of humor and heart, perfect for fans of Front Desk and Amina's Voice. As the only Indian American kid in her small...
Maybe maybe Marisol Rainey
Kelly, Erin Entrada
"Utterly endearing!" --Annie Barrows, New York Times-bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books "Hilarious and heart-melting." --Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey--an irresistible new character...
Power forward
Khan, Hena
From the critically acclaimed author of Amina's Voice comes the first book in an exciting new middle grade series about a fourth-grader with big dreams of basketball stardom. Fourth grader Zayd Saleem has some serious hoop dreams. He's not just going to be a professional...
Stand up, Yumi Chung!
Kim, Jessica
One lie snowballs into a full-blown double life in this irresistible story about an aspiring stand-up comedian. On the outside, Yumi Chung suffers from #shygirlproblems, a perm-gone-wrong, and kids calling her "Yu-MEAT" because she smells like her family's Korean barbecue...
Fly on the wall
Lai, Remy
In Fly on the Wall, a moving and hilarious diary-style illustrated novel from the award-winning author of Pie in the Sky, a twelve-year-old boy goes on a (forbidden) solo adventure halfway around the world to prove his independence to his overprotective family.
Pie in the Sky
Lai, Remy
A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang! A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of...
Measuring up
LaMotte, Lily
An ALA Top 10 Graphic Novel of 2021 · A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection · Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List · Featured in Today Show's AAPI Heritage Month list · Amazon Best Books November Selection · Cybils Awards Finalist · An NBC AAPI Selection · Featured in...
Mindy Kim and the trip to Korea
Lee, Lyla
Fresh Off the Boat meets Junie B. Jones in the adorable chapter book series following Mindy Kim, a young Asian American girl--in this fifth novel, Mindy goes to South Korea! Mindy is super excited to go to South Korea to visit her grandparents! She has never taken...
Winston Chu vs. the whimsies
Lee, Stacey
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents best-selling author Stacey Lee's modern reimagining of a classic Chinese folktale--replete with magic, boba, and lots of trash talking. Twelve-year-old Winston Chu is supposed to learn impulse control at the cooking academy his mom...
The unbeatable Lily Hong
Ma, Diana
A smart, funny, and heartfelt middle grade novel about Lily Hong's attempts to save her parents' Chinese school and the town's community center using all the resources she has--devoted friends, ingenuity, a passion for filmmaking, mediocre dance moves (at best), and perhaps even her...
Accidental trouble magnet
Mian, Zanib
The first book in the exciting middle-grade series starring a Muslim boy with a huge imagination--now in paperback! Welcome to the imaginative brain of Omar! Omar and his family have just moved, and he is NOT excited about starting at a new school. What if the work...
Prairie lotus
Park, Linda Sue
Prairie Lotus is a powerful, touching, multilayered novel about a girl determined to fit in and realize her dreams: getting an education, becoming a dressmaker in her father's shop, and making at least one friend. Acclaimed, award-winning author Linda Sue Park has placed a young half-Asian...
The house that Lou built
Respicio, Mae
"If this book were a house, the rooms would be filled with warmth, family, and friendship." --Erin Entrada Kelly, author of the Newbery Medal winner Hello, Universe; The Land of Forgotten Girls; and Blackbird Fly A coming-of-age story that explores culture and family,...
Sam Wu is not afraid of spiders
Tsang, Katie
Who's afraid of spiders? NOT SAM WU! In this fourth book in the hilarious series, Sam must conquer his fears and help save the school pet tarantula.   Sam Wu is NOT afraid of anything. Well, maybe some things--like ghosts, sharks . . . and the dark's...
Stargazing
Wang, Jen
Stargazing is a heartwarming middle-grade graphic novel in the spirit of Frizzy and Mexikid, from New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Jen Wang. Moon is everything Christine isn't. She's confident, impulsive, artistic . . . and though they...
Finally seen
Yang, Kelly
From the New York Times bestselling author of Front Desk comes a "involving, realistic" (Booklist, starred review) middle grade novel about a young girl who leaves China to live with her parents and sister, after five years apart, and learns about family, friendship, and the...
Front desk
Yang, Kelly
Four starred reviews and over ten best-of-year lists!* "Many readers will recognize themselves or their neighbors in these pages." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred reviewWinner of the Asian / Pacific American Award for Children's Literature!* "Many readers will recognize themselves or their...
New from here
Yang, Kelly
An instant #1 New York Times bestseller! This "timely and compelling" (Kirkus Reviews) middle grade novel about courage, hope, and resilience follows an Asian American boy fighting to keep his family together and stand up to racism during the initial outbreak of...
Maizy Chen's last chance
Yee, Lisa
LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD . Twelve year-old Maizy discovers her family's Chinese restaurant is full of secrets in this irresistible novel that celebrates food, fortune, and family. Welcome to the Golden Palace! Maizy has never been to Last Chance,...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.