Asian and Pacific Islander Voices: Books for Teens

Updated April 20, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
When you wish upon a lantern
Chao, Gloria
Acclaimed author Gloria Chao creates real-world magic in this luminous romance about teens who devote themselves to granting other people's wishes but are too afraid to let themselves have their own hearts' desires--each other. Liya and Kai had been best friends since they were...
A thousand steps into night
Chee, Traci
Longlisted for the National Book Award From bestselling and award-winning author Traci Chee comes a fantasy perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli. When a girl who's never longed for adventure is hit with a curse that begins to transform her into a demon, she embarks on a quest to...
We are not free
Chee, Traci
* NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST * PRINTZ HONOR BOOK * WALTER HONOR BOOK * ASIAN/PACIFIC AMERICAN AWARD FOR LITERATURE HONOR BOOK * From New York Times best-selling and acclaimed author Traci Chee comes We Are Not Free, the collective account of a tight-knit group of young...
This light between us : a novel of World War II
Fukuda, Andrew Xia
Winner of the American Library Association's Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature For readers of The Librarian Of Auschwitz, This Light Between Us is a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals--a Japanese...
Messy roots : a graphic memoir of a Wuhanese American
Gao, Laura
"Messy Roots is a laugh-out-loud, heartfelt, and deeply engaging story of their journey to find themself--as an American, as the daughter of Chinese immigrants, as a queer person, and as a Wuhanese American in the middle of a pandemic."--Malaka Gharib, author of I Was Their American...
Throwback
Goo, Maurene
A Gen Z Korean American girl gets stuck in the '90s with her teenaged mother in this fresh, funny adventure full of heart, humor, and time-crossed romance. Perfect for fans of Mary H.K. Choi, Morgan Matson, and Nicola Yoon. "No one can blend family, humor, satire, and love...
Almost American girl : an illustrated memoir
Ha, Robin
Harvey Award Nominee, Best Children or Young Adult Book  A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.  For as long as she can remember...
Displacement
Hughes, Kiku
A teenager is pulled back in time to witness her grandmother's experiences in World War II-era Japanese internment camps in Displacement, a historical graphic novel from Kiku Hughes. Kiku is on vacation in San Francisco when suddenly she finds herself displaced to the...
The red palace
Hur, June
June Hur, critically acclaimed author of The Silence of Bones and The Forest of Stolen Girls, returns with The Red Palace--a third evocative, atmospheric historical mystery perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Kerri Maniscalco. To enter the palace...
Tokyo ever after
Jean, Emiko
Emiko Jean's New York Times bestseller and Reese Book Club Pick Tokyo Ever After is the "refreshing, spot-on" (Booklist, starred review) story of an ordinary Japanese American girl who discovers that her father is the Crown Prince of Japan! Izumi Tanaka...
Butterfly yellow
Lai, Thanhha
Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction! Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sánchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. 4 starred reviews! In the...
A pho love story
Le, Loan
"Will leave readers swooning." --PopSugar ​When Dimple Met Rishi meets Ugly Delicious in this funny, smart romantic comedy, in which two Vietnamese American teens fall in love and must navigate their newfound relationship amid their...
Fake dates and mooncakes
Lee, Sher
Heartstopper meets Crazy Rich Asians in this heartfelt, joyful paperback original rom-com that follows an aspiring chef who discovers the recipe for love is more complicated than it seems when he starts fake-dating a handsome new customer. Dylan Tang wants to win a...
The downstairs girl
Lee, Stacey
A Reese's Book Club YA Pick and New York Times Bestseller   From the critically acclaimed author of Luck of the Titanic, Under a Painted Sky, and Outrun the Moon comes a powerful novel about identity, betrayal, and the meaning of family.
Kill her twice
Lee, Stacey
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Downstairs Girl comes a YA murder mystery noir set in 1930s Los Angeles's Chinatown. "A captivating and crackling noir full of suspenseful twists. Readers will fall in love with the Chow sisters and their quest...
I hope this doesn't find you
Liang, Ann (Young adult author)
An instant New York Times bestseller! Snarky and romantic, I Hope This Doesn't Find You is Never Have I Ever meets To All the Boys I've Loved Before if Lara Jean wrote hate emails instead of love letters. Sadie Wen is perfect on paper: school captain, valedictorian,...
This time it's real
Liang, Ann (Young adult author)
Get ready to fall in love in this hilarious romcom about a girl who begins a fake relationship with the famous actor in her class, perfect for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han, by New York Times bestselling author Ann Liang. When seventeen-year-old Eliza Lin's essay about meeting the...
Six crimson cranes
Lim, Elizabeth
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse... Drawing from fairy tales and East Asian folklore, this original fantasy from the author of Spin the Dawn is perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone....
David Tung can't have a girlfriend until he gets into an Ivy League college
Lin, Ed
"You're not allowed to have a girlfriend until college," my mother warned. "And you'd better get into an Ivy League school " David Tung Can't Get a Girlfriend until He Gets into an Ivy League College is the first official young adult novel from Ed Lin, author of the acclaimed novels...
A magic steeped in poison
Lin, Judy I.
A #1 New York Times Bestseller! Judy I. Lin's sweeping debut A Magic Steeped in Poison, first in a duology, is sure to enchant fans of Adrienne Young and Leigh Bardugo. I used to look at my hands with pride. Now all I can think is, "These are the...
Last night at the Telegraph Club
Lo, Malinda
Winner of the National Book Award A New York Times Bestseller "The queer romance we've been waiting for."--Ms. Magazine Seventeen-year-old Lily Hu can't remember exactly when the feeling took root--that desire to look, to move closer, to touch....
Dragonfruit
Lucier, Makiia
From acclaimed author Makiia Lucier, a dazzling, romantic fantasy inspired by Pacific Island mythology. In the old tales, it is written that the egg of a seadragon, dragonfruit, holds within it the power to undo a person's greatest sorrow. But as with all things that offer...
Monstrous : a transracial adoption story
Myer, Sarah
"A beautiful, courageous book." Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese A Finalist for the 2024 L.A. Times Book Prize in Young Adult Literature Monstrous is poignant young adult graphic memoir about a Korean-American girl who uses...
ASAP
Oh, Axie
New York Times bestselling author Axie Oh's ASAP is the much anticipated companion novel to beloved romance XOXO, following fan favorites Sori, the wealthy daughter of a K-pop company owner, and Nathaniel, her K-pop star ex-boyfriend, in a swoon-worthy...
The colliding worlds of Mina Lee
Oh, Ellen
When a Korean American teenage artist gets sucked into the world of her own web comic, she must find a way out with the help of a cute boy all while facing off against a villainous corporation. Inspired by the A-ha's "Take on Me" music video, this entertaining YA novel is a grounded speculative...
An arrow to the moon
Pan, Emily X. R.
Romeo and Juliet meets Chinese mythology in this magical novel by the New York Times bestselling author of The Astonishing Color of After. Hunter Yee has perfect aim with a bow and arrow, but all else in his life veers wrong....
Family style : memories of an American from Vietnam
Pham, Thien
A moving young adult graphic memoir about a Vietnamese immigrant boy's search for belonging in America, perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and The Best We Could Do! Thien's first memory isn't a sight or a sound. It's the sweetness of watermelon and the...
Patron saints of nothing
Ribay, Randy
A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST "Brilliant, honest, and equal parts heartbreaking and soul-healing." --Laurie Halse Anderson, author of SHOUT  "A singular voice in the world of literature." --Jason Reynolds, author of Long Way Down A...
She is a haunting
Tran, Trang Thanh
William C. Morris Debut Award Finalist Instant New York Times and Indie Bestseller This house eats and is eaten . . . "A riveting debut from a remarkable new voice! Trang Thanh Tran weaves an impressive gothic mystery in which...
The magic fish
Trung, Le Nguyen
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR by New York Public Library . Kirkus Reviews . Booklist . Publishers Weekly In this gorgeous debut graphic novel, fairy tales are the only way one boy can communicate with his Vietnamese immigrant parents. But how will he find the...
Dragon hoops
Yang, Gene Luen
In his latest graphic novel, Dragon Hoops, New York Times bestselling author Gene Luen Yang turns the spotlight on his life, his family, and the high school where he teaches. Gene understands stories--comic book stories, in particular. Big action. Bigger thrills....
From a whisper to a rallying cry : the killing of Vincent Chin and the trial that galvanized the Asian American movement
Yoo, Paula
America in 1982: Japanese car companies are on the rise and believed to be putting U.S. autoworkers out of their jobs. Anti-Asian American sentiment simmers, especially in Detroit. A bar fight turns fatal, leaving a Chinese American man, Vincent Chin, beaten to death at the hands of two white men...
Super fake love song
Yoon, David
An NPR Book Concierge Pick of the Year "The fun of this engrossing read is that underneath the slapstick lies a finely nuanced meditation on how we perform as ourselves." --New York Times Book Review   From the New York Times bestselling author of...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.