Middle School Battle of the Books 2023-2024

Updated June 19, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Unlawful orders : a portrait of Dr. James B. Williams, Tuskeegee airman, surgeon, and activist
Binns, Barbara
Barbara Binns presents the inspiring story of one man in his struggle for racial equality in the field of battle and the field of medicine. Scholastic Focus is the premier home of thoroughly researched, beautifully written, and thoughtfully designed works of narrative nonfiction aimed at middle...
The iron trial
Black, Holly
From NEW YORK TIMES bestselling authors Holly Black and Cassandra Clare comes a riveting new series that defies what you think you know about the world of magic.Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial. Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail. All his life, Call has been warned by his father to...
Marcus Vega doesn't speak Spanish
Cartaya, Pablo
One boy's search for his father leads him to Puerto Rico in this moving-middle grade novel, for fans of Ghost and See You in the Cosmos. Marcus Vega is six feet tall, 180 pounds, and the owner of a premature mustache. When you look like this and you're only in the...
New kid
Craft, Jerry
Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature!  Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low...
The book jumper
Gläser, Mechthild
In this English translation of the hit German young adult novel from Mechthild Gläser, each book is its own world--with its own dangers. Can a young girl navigate these new worlds and get out alive? Amy Lennox doesn't know quite what to expect when she and her mother pick up...
The last cuentista
Higuera, Donna Barba
Winner of the John Newbery Medal Winner of the Pura Belpré Award From Pura Belpré Award winner and Newbery Medalist, Donna Barba Higuera--a brilliant journey through the stars, to the very heart of what makes us...
Restart
Korman, Gordon
The amazing New York Times bestseller about what you can do when life gives you a second chance.Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember falling off the roof. He doesn't remember hitting his head. He doesn't, in fact, remember anything. He wakes up in a hospital...
Tristan Strong punches a hole in the sky
Mbalia, Kwame
Seventh grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he failed to save his best friend when they were in a bus accident together. All he has left of Eddie is the journal his friend wrote stories in. Tristan is dreading the month he's going to spend on his grandparents' farm in Alabama,...
Agent most wanted : the never-before-told story of the most dangerous spy of World War II
Purnell, Sonia
A young readers adaptation of Sonia Purnell's New York Times bestselling book A Woman of No Importance, the story of Virginia Hall; the unassuming American spy who helped the allies win World War II. Virginia Hall was deemed "the most dangerous of all allied spies"...
Nyxia
Reintgen, Scott
"A high-octane thriller . . . Nyxia grabs you from the first line and never lets go." --Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Warcross Every life has a price in this sci-fi thriller--the first in a trilogy--that has the...
The hired girl
Schlitz, Laura Amy
Winner of the 2016 Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction A 2016 Association of Jewish Libraries Sydney Taylor Award Winner Winner of the 2016 National Jewish Book Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature Newbery Medalist Laura Amy Schlitz brings...
Death on the river of doubt : Theodore Roosevelt's Amazon adventure
Seiple, Samantha
The action-packed true story of President Theodore Roosevelt's dangerous adventure down one of the most treacherous rivers on Earth."I did have a murderous trip down South, but it was mighty interesting." In October 1913, Theodore Roosevelt arrived in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, on a tour of South...
Salt to the sea : a novel
Sepetys, Ruta
#1 New York Times bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal!  "A superlative novel . . . masterfully crafted."--The Wall Street Journal Based on "the forgotten tragedy that was six times deadlier than the Titanic."--Time...
The secret battle of Evan Pao
Shang, Wendy Wan Long
Middle school can be a battlefield... From award-winning author Wendy Wan-Long Shang comes a poignant and timely take on prejudice, bullying, and claiming our own histories, perfect for fans of Front Desk. A fresh start. That's all Evan Pao wants as he, along with his mother and...
Sherwood
Spooner, Meagan
Fans of Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Alex Flinn will devour New York Times bestselling author Meagan Spooner's next fierce fairy tale-inspired story, which Illuminae author Amie Kaufman calls "a kick-ass, gender-flipped feminist retelling." Robin of Locksley is dead. Maid...
Other words for home
Warga, Jasmine
New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book! A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be...
Long lost
West, Jacqueline 1979-
Winner of the Minnesota Book Award * A Texas Bluebonnet Book "Perfect to be read late into the night."--Stefan Bachmann, internationally bestselling author of The Peculiar "A spooky sisterhood mystery that is sure to be a hit with readers."--School Library Journal (starred...
Genesis begins again
Williams, Alicia 1970-
A Newbery Honor Book Winner of the Correta Scott King - John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award A Morris Award Finalist An NPR Favorite Book of 2019 A School Library Journal Best Middle Grade Book of 2019 A Kirkus Reviews...
The watch that ends the night : voices from the Titanic
Wolf, Allan
Arrogance and innocence, hubris and hope--twenty-four haunting voices of the Titanic tragedy, as well as the iceberg itself, are evoked in a stunning tour de force. Millionaire John Jacob Astor hopes to bring home his pregnant teen bride with a minimum of media scandal. A...
Wolf Hollow : a novel
Wolk, Lauren 1956-
A Newbery Honor Book New York Times Bestseller "Wolf Hollow has stayed with me long after I closed the book. It has the feel of an instant classic." --Linda Sue Park, Newbery Medalist and New York Times bestselling author of ...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.