Animal Stories

Great fiction for ages 9-12 featuring animal characters.

Updated June 28, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Clarice the brave
McMann, Lisa
The New York Times bestselling author of The Unwanteds brings us an epic animal adventure story perfect for fans of Pax and A Wolf Called Wander. Clarice is a young ship mouse grieving the loss of her mother when a mutiny forces her onto a small, leaky...
Lila and Hadley
Keplinger, Kody
Can a lost girl save a found dog? Find out in this unforgettable story about discovering true friendship, finding home, and the possibilities of forgiveness. Hadley is angry about a lot of things: Her mom going to jail. Having to move to another state to live with her older sister,...
The one and only Ivan
Applegate, Katherine
The #1 New York Times bestselling and Newbery Award-winning novel The One and Only Ivan is now a major motion picture streaming on Disney+ This unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of...
Otto P. Nudd
Butler, Emily 1968-
Otto P. Nudd- Tthe BEST bird in Ida Valley (at least according to him). While his buddies waste their days at the dump cracking jokes, Otto invents things with his human neighbor Old Man Bartleby in their workshop. Marla- The Competition. This protective mama-squirrel will...
Pax
Pennypacker, Sara 1951-
New York Times Bestseller * National Book Award Longlist  From bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes a beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful relationship between a boy and his fox. Pax is destined to become a classic,...
A wolf called Wander
Parry, Rosanne
A New York Times bestseller! "Don't miss this dazzling tour de force."--Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal winning author of The One and Only Ivan This gripping novel about survival and family is based on the real story of one wolf's incredible journey to find a safe place to...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.