LGBTQ+ Fiction - Middle Grade

Book with LGBTQ+ characters for grades 3-8.

Updated July 3, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Drum roll, please
Bigelow, Lisa Jenn
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat in this big-hearted middle grade novel. One of Time Out's "LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month", this is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Tim Federle's Better Nate Than Ever! Melly only...
Ivy Aberdeen's letter to the world
Blake, Ashley Herring
In the wake of a destructive tornado, Ivy Aberdeen develops feelings for another girl in this stunning, tender novel about emerging identity, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish. When a tornado rips through town, twelve-year-old Ivy Aberdeen's house...
King and the dragonflies
Callender, Kacen
A 2021 Coretta Scott King Honor Book! Winner of the 2020 National Book Award for Young People's Literature! Winner of the 2020 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for Fiction and Poetry! In a small but turbulent Louisiana town, one boy's grief takes him...
George
Gino, Alex
The unforgettable debut from Stonewall Award Winner Alex Gino. George joins the Scholastic Gold line, which features award-winning and beloved novels. Includes exclusive bonus content! When people look at Melissa, they think they see a boy named George. But she knows she's not...
George
Gino, Alex
The unforgettable debut from Stonewall Award Winner Alex Gino. George joins the Scholastic Gold line, which features award-winning and beloved novels. Includes exclusive bonus content! When people look at Melissa, they think they see a boy named George. But she knows she's not...
Thanks a lot, Universe
Lucas, Chad
A moving middle-grade debut for anyone who's ever felt like they don't belong Brian has always been anxious, whether at home, or in class, or on the basketball court. His dad tries to get him to stand up for himself and his mom helps as much as she can, but after he and his...
Too bright to see
Lukoff, Kyle
A Newbery Honor Book . Winner of the Stonewall Book Award . A National Book Award Finalist "A gentle, glowing wonder, full of love and understanding." -The New York Times Book Review Cover may vary. It's the summer before middle school and eleven...
In the role of Brie Hutchens . . .
Melleby, Nicole
A Kirkus Reviews Best Middle Grade Book of 2020 An own-voices LGBTQ novel from the acclaimed author of Hurricane Season, about eighth grader Brie, who learns how to be true to herself and to her relationships with family, friends, and faith.
To Night Owl from Dogfish
Sloan, Holly Goldberg 1958-
From two extraordinary authors comes a moving, exuberant, laugh-out-loud novel about friendship and family, told entirely in emails and letters. Avery Bloom, who's bookish, intense, and afraid of many things, particularly deep water, lives in New York City. Bett Devlin, who's...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.