Family Read Alouds

Stories to share with a variety of ages.

Updated July 3, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Wishtree
Applegate, Katherine
An oak tree and a crow help their neighbors embrace their differences in this beautiful, nuanced, New York Times-bestselling middle-grade novel from Newbery Medalist author Katherine Applegate. Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .
The Penderwicks : a summer tale of four sisters, two rabbits, and a very interesting boy
Birdsall, Jeanne
This series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner andnbsp;New York Timesnbsp;bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Over one million copies sold, now with a bright new look! This...
The wild robot
Brown, Peter 1979-
Soon to be a DreamWorks movie, coming to theaters 9/20/24! Wall-E meets Hatchet in this #1 New York Times bestselling illustrated middle grade novel from Caldecott Honor winner Peter Brown Can a robot...
Dragons in a bag
Elliott, Zetta
The dragon's out of the bag in this diverse, young urban fantasy from an award-winning author! When Jaxon is sent to spend the day with a mean old lady his mother calls Ma, he finds out she's not his grandmother--but she is a witch! She needs his help delivering...
The birchbark house
Erdrich, Louise
"[In this] story of a young Ojibwa girl, Omakayas, living on an island in Lake Superior around 1847, Louise Erdrich is reversing the narrative perspective used in most children's stories about nineteenth-century Native Americans. Instead of looking out at 'them' as dangers or curiosities, Erdrich,...
Tuesdays at the castle
George, Jessica Day 1976-
Every Tuesday Castle Glower takes on a life of its own-magically inventing, moving, and even completely getting rid of some of its rooms. Good thing Princess Celie takes the time to map out these never-ending changes. Because when the castle is ambushed and Celie's parents and oldest brother go...
The creature of the pines
Gidwitz, Adam
Elliot Eisner isn't exactly excited about starting at a brand-new school in a brand-new town; he'd much rather stay at home and read a book. But things take an unexpected turn when he finds out his weird new teacher, Professor Fauna, has planned a field trip for Elliot's very first day. Along with a...
The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street
Glaser, Karina Yan
The first book in the bestselling series that the New York Times Book Review hails as "delightful and heartwarming." The Vanderbeekers have always lived in the brownstone on 141st Street. It's practically another member of the family. So when their reclusive, curmudgeonly landlord decides...
The princess in black
Hale, Shannon
Who says princesses don't wear black? When trouble raises its blue monster head, Princess Magnolia ditches her flouncy dresses and becomes the Princess in Black! Princess Magnolia is having hot chocolate and scones with Duchess Wigtower when . . . Brring! Brring! The...
The Magic Misfits
Harris, Neil Patrick 1973-
A New York Times and USA Today bestseller! From award-winning actor Neil Patrick Harris comes the magical first book in a series with plenty of tricks up its sleeve. When street magician Carter runs away, he never expects to find friends and magic...
Where the mountain meets the moon
Lin, Grace
A Newbery Honor Book! A New York Times bestseller! An Al Roker's TODAY Show Book Club Pick! A Time Magazine 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time selection!​ A Reader's Digest Best Children's Book of All Time​!
Juana & Lucas
Medina, Juana 1980-
Winner of the 2017 Pura Belpré Author Award Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series. Juana loves many things -- drawing, eating Brussels sprouts, living...
Adventures with waffles
Parr, Maria 1981-
Lena is Trille's best friend, even if she is a girl. And there is never an ordinary day when you've got a best friend like Lena. Hardly a day passes without Trille and Lena inventing some kind of adventure that often ends in trouble. Whether it's coaxing a cow onto a boat or...
Skunk and Badger
Timberlake, Amy
Learn how Skunk and Badger first became roommates before embarking on their latest adventure, Egg Marks the Spot! A Best Book of 2020: People * Kirkus Reviews * Booklist  * School Library...
Ways to make sunshine
Watson, Renée
From Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winner Renée Watson, the first book in a young middle grade series about Ryan Hart, a girl who is pure spirit, kindness, and sunshine. Ryan Hart can be and do anything. Her name means "king", that she is a leader, and she...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.