Hispanic Heritage Month-Juvenile and Teen books

Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the histories, cultures, and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central, and South America. This is a curated list of Juvenile and Teen books about, by, and/or for the Latinx and Hispanic communities.

Updated September 27, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Plátanos go with everything
Norman, Lissette
Paletero Man meets Fry Bread in this vibrant and cheerful ode to plátanos, the star of Dominican cuisine, written by award-winning poet Lissette Norman, illustrated by Sara Palacios, and translated by Kianny N. Antigua. Plátanos are Yesenia's favorite food. They can be sweet...
Only for a little while
Belt, Gabriela Orozco
A heartwarming picture book with Spanish words woven in, about a father helping his daughter adjust when they temporarily have to move in with extended family. Perfect for fans of My Papi Has a Motorcycle and Where Are You From. When Maribel's family has to move in with Tía...
With lots of love
Torres Sanchez, Jenny
A beautiful, lyrical story about a girl who moves from her home in Central America to the United States, and everything she leaves behind and longs for-especially her Abuela-as she makes a new life. Rocio has grown up in Central America, but now she and her family are moving to...
Living beyond borders : growing up Mexican in America
*"This superb anthology of short stories, comics, and poems is fresh, funny, and full of authentic YA voices revealing what it means to be Mexican American . . . Not to be missed."--SLC, starred review *"Superlative . . . A memorable collection." --Booklist, starred...
Evelyn Del Rey is moving away
Medina, Meg
The 2020 Jumpstart Read for the Record Selection (2.24 million readers) * An American Library Association Notable Children's Book * A Publisher's Weekly Best Children's Book of the Year * A Kirkus Reviews Best Picture Book of the Year * A School Library Journal Best Book of...
Latinitas : celebrating big dreamers in history!
Menéndez, Juliet
Dream big with the Latinitas in Latinitas: Celebrating 40 Big Dreamers. Discover how 40 influential Latinas became the women we celebrate today! In this collection of short biographies from all over Latin America and across the United States, Juliet Menéndez explores the...
Latinitas : celebrating big dreamers in history!
Menéndez, Juliet
Dream big with the Latinitas in Latinitas: Celebrating 40 Big Dreamers. Discover how 40 influential Latinas became the women we celebrate today! In this collection of short biographies from all over Latin America and across the United States, Juliet Menéndez explores the...
Nuestra America: 30 inspiring Latinas/Latinos who have shaped the United States
Vourvoulias, Sabrina
Celebrate 30 influential Latinas/Latinos/Latinxs in U.S. history with Nuestra América, a fully-illustrated anthology from the Smithsonian Latino Center. Nuestra América highlights the inspiring stories of thirty Latina/o/xs...
El espańol es la lengua de mi familia
Genhart, Michael
An intergenerational story of family ties, cultural pride, and spelling bee victory following a young boy who bonds with his beloved abuela over a love of Spanish. As a boy prepares for his school's Spanish spelling bee, he asks his grandmother for help with some of the words he...
Iveliz explains it all
Arango, Andrea Beatriz
NEWBERY HONOR AWARD WINNER * In this timely and moving novel in verse, a preteen girl navigates seventh grade while facing mental health challenges. A hopeful, poetic story about learning to advocate for the help and understanding you deserve. "Powerful." --Lisa Fipps,...
Evelyn Del Rey se muda
Medina, Meg
A Bank Street College Best Spanish Language Picture Book of the Year/El mejor libro infantil en español del año Evelyn Del Rey es la mejor amiga de Daniela. Hacen todo juntas e incluso viven una al frente de la otra en la misma calle en apartamentos que son casi iguales: Daniela...
Iveliz explains it all
Arango, Andrea Beatriz
NEWBERY HONOR AWARD WINNER * In this timely and moving novel in verse, a preteen girl navigates seventh grade while facing mental health challenges. A hopeful, poetic story about learning to advocate for the help and understanding you deserve. "Powerful." --Lisa Fipps,...
Tumble
Pérez, Celia C. 1972-
From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk and Strange Birds, a dazzling novel about a young girl who collects the missing pieces of her origin story from the family of legendary luchadores she's never met. A 2023 Pura Belpré Author Honor Book
Nuestra America: 30 inspiring Latinas/Latinos who have shaped the United States
Vourvoulias, Sabrina
Celebrate 30 influential Latinas/Latinos/Latinxs in U.S. history with Nuestra América, a fully-illustrated anthology from the Smithsonian Latino Center. Nuestra América highlights the inspiring stories of thirty Latina/o/xs...
Celia Cruz
Romo Edelman, Claudia
Read about "La Reina de la Salsa" in Hispanic Star: Celia Cruz, and learn the most groundbreaking, iconic Hispanic and Latinx heroes that have shaped our culture and the world in this gripping biography series for young readers, perfect for fans of the Who Was series. ...
Who was Celia Cruz?
Kaiser, Lisbeth
The latest addition to the Who HQ board book series- a biography of Celia Cruz, created specifically for the preschool audience! The #1 New York Times Bestselling Who Was? series expands into the board book space, bringing age-appropriate biographies of influential...
With lots of love
Torres Sanchez, Jenny
A beautiful, lyrical story about a girl who moves from her home in Central America to the United States, and everything she leaves behind and longs for-especially her Abuela-as she makes a new life. Rocio has grown up in Central America, but now she and her family are moving to...
Por un ratito
Belt, Gabriela Orozco
Un libro ilustrado conmovedor de padres e hijas sobre cómo navegar por cambios y emociones grandes después que una familia tiene que mudarse temporalmente con parientes. Perfecto para lectores de Mi papi tiene una moto, y ¿De dónde eres?  Cuando la familia de Maribel se tiene que...
Still dreaming = Seguimos sońando
Martinez, Claudia Guadalupe 1978-
Pura Belpré Illustrator Award Honor 2023 - American Library Association (ALA) A 2023 Pura Belpré Illustrator Award Honor In the first children's book to describe the long-forgotten chapter of US history known as Mexican Repatriation, a boy and his family leave their...
The total eclipse of Nestor Lopez
Cuevas, Adrianna
2021 Pura Belpré Honor Book NYPL Best Book of 2020 2020 Evanston Public Library Great Books for Kids In this magical middle-grade debut novel from Adrianna Cuevas, The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez, a Cuban American boy must use his secret ability...
Tumble
Pérez, Celia C. 1972-
From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk and Strange Birds, a dazzling novel about a young girl who collects the missing pieces of her origin story from the family of legendary luchadores she's never met. A 2023 Pura Belpré Author Honor Book
They call me Güero : a border kid's poems
Bowles, David (David O.)
An award-winning novel in verse about a boy who navigates the start of seventh grade and life growing up on the border the only way that feels right--through poetry. They call him Güero because of his red hair, pale skin, and freckles. Sometimes people only go off of what...
They call me Güero : a border kid's poems
Bowles, David (David O.)
An award-winning novel in verse about a boy who navigates the start of seventh grade and life growing up on the border the only way that feels right--through poetry. They call him Güero because of his red hair, pale skin, and freckles. Sometimes people only go off of what...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.