Native American Heritage - Teens

Books by Indigenous & Native American authors for teens.

Updated November 1, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
This place : 150 years retold
Explore the past 150 years through the eyes of Indigenous creators in this groundbreaking graphic novel anthology. Beautifully illustrated, these stories are an emotional and enlightening journey through Indigenous wonderworks, psychic battles, and time travel. See how Indigenous peoples have...
Warrior girl unearthed
Boulley, Angeline
An Instant New York Times bestseller! A #1 Indies Bestseller!A Publisher's Lunch Best YA of 2023! An Amazon Best Book of the Year!Winner of the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award!A Horn Book Fanfare Title! A BookPage Best...
The marrow thieves
Dimaline, Cherie 1975-
Winner of the 2017 Governor General's Literary Award (Young People's Literature - Text) Winner of the 2017 Kirkus Prize Winner of the 2018 Sunburst Award Winner of the 2018 Amy Mathers Teen Book Award Winner of the 2018 Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Young...
The summer of bitter and sweet
Ferguson, Jenny 1985-
In this complex and emotionally resonant novel about a Métis girl living on the Canadian prairies, debut author Jen Ferguson serves up a powerful story about rage, secrets, and all the spectrums that make up a person--and the sweetness that can still live alongside the bitterest truth. A William...
Apple : skin to the core : a memoir in words and pictures
Gansworth, Eric 1965-
Winner of the American Indian Youth Literature Award Printz Honor Winner National Book Award Longlist TIME 10 Best YA and Children's Books of the Year NPR Best of the Year Shelf Awareness Best of the Year Publishers Weekly Big Indie Books of...
Notable native people : 50 indigenous leaders, dreamers, and changemakers from past and present
Keene, Adrienne 1985-
An accessible and educational illustrated book profiling 50 notable American Indian, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian people, from NBA star Kyrie Irving of the Standing Rock Lakota to Wilma Mankiller, the first female principal chief of the Cherokee Nation An American Indian...
Walking in two worlds
Kinew, Wab 1981-
An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series. In the real world, Bugz is a shy and self-conscious Indigenous...
#Notyourprincess : voices of Native American women
Native Women demand to be heard in this stunning anthology. Whether looking back to a troubled past or welcoming a hopeful future, the powerful voices of Indigenous women across North America resound in this book. In the same style as the best-selling Dreaming in Indian, #Not...
Elatsoe
Little Badger, Darcie 1987-
Locus Award Winner--Best First Novel A National Indie Bestseller Nebula Award Finalist Lodestar Award Finalist Ignyte Award Finalist TIME's Best 100 Fantasy Books of All Time NPR Best of the Year Booklist's...
An indigenous peoples' history of the United States for young people
Mendoza, Jean
2020 American Indian Youth Literature Young Adult Honor Book 2020 Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People,selected by National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) and the Children's Book Council 2019 Best-Of Lists- Best YA Nonfiction of...
Man made monsters
Rogers, Andrea L.
WALTER DEAN MYERS AWARD WINNER AMERICAN INDIAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION YOUTH LITERATURE HONOR INTERNATIONAL LITERACY ASSOCIATION BOOK AWARD WINNER WHIPPOORWHILL AWARD WINNER READING THE WEST BOOK AWARDS SHORTLIST NEA READ ACROSS...
Hearts unbroken
Smith, Cynthia Leitich
Winner of an American Indian Youth Literature Award New York Times best-selling author Cynthia Leitich Smith turns to realistic fiction with the thoughtful story of a Native teen navigating the complicated, confusing waters of high school -- and first love. ...
Surviving the city
Spillett-Sumner, Tasha 1988-
Miikwan and Dez are best friends. Miikwan is Anishinaabe; Dez is Inninew. Together, the teens navigate the challenges of growing up in an urban landscape--they're so close, they even completed their Berry Fast together. However, when Dez's grandmother becomes too sick, Dez is told she can't stay...
Everything you wanted to know about Indians but were afraid to ask
Treuer, Anton
From the acclaimed Ojibwe author and professor Anton Treuer comes an essential book of questions and answers for Native and non-Native young readers alike. Ranging from "Why is there such a fuss about nonnative people wearing Indian costumes for Halloween?" to "Why is it called a 'traditional Indian...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.