Mystery

From cozies to police procedurals, find recent mystery releases here.
Updated June 14, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The last devil to die
Osman, Richard 1970-
An instant #1 New York Times bestseller! A new mystery is afoot in the fourth book in the Thursday Murder Club series from million-copy bestselling author Richard Osman It's rarely a quiet day for the Thursday Murder Club. Shocking...
The lantern's dance : a novel of suspense featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes
King, Laurie R.
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes, hoping for a respite in the French countryside, are instead caught up in a case that turns both bewildering and intensely personal. "Deftly interlacing present and past, King offers further fascinating insights into Holmes...
The hunter
French, Tana
An Instant New York Times Bestseller Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2024 by the Washington Post, TIME Magazine, BBC, TODAY, Elle, CrimeReads, and more "Hailed as the queen of Irish crime fiction, French spins a taut tale of retribution, sacrifice, and...
The running grave
Galbraith, Robert
In this New York Times bestselling installment of the "outrageously entertaining" Strike series (Financial Times), detective duo Cormoran and Robin must rescue a man ensnared in the trap of a dangerous cult.​ Private Detective Cormoran Strike...
Everyone on this train is a suspect : a novel
Stevenson, Benjamin
From the bestselling author of Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone, a fiendishly fun locked room (train) murder mystery that "offers a tip of the hat to the great Agatha Christie novel while at the same time being a modern reinvention of it" (Nita Prose) -- perfect for fans of Richard Osman...
The raging storm
Cleeves, Ann
Ann Cleeves--New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of the Vera and Shetland series, both of which are hit TV shows--returns with The Raging Storm, the extraordinary third installment in the Matthew Venn series. Fierce winds, dark secrets,...
The ghost orchid
Kellerman, Jonathan
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Psychologist Alex Delaware and Detective Milo Sturgis confront a baffling, vicious double homicide that leads them to long-buried secrets worth killing for in the riveting thriller from the #1 New York Times bestselling "master of suspense" (Los...
Death of a spy
Beaton, M. C.
Sergeant Hamish Macbeth faces a string of mysterious robberies that are only the beginning of an international threat to his sleepy Scottish village of Lochdubh in the latest mystery in M.C. Beaton's beloved, New York Times bestselling series. Sergeant Hamish...
Random in death
Robb, J. D. 1950-
In this crime thriller from #1 New York Times-bestselling J.D. Robb, a small and easily concealed weapon wreaks havoc, and the killer is just a face in the crowd. Jenna's parents had finally given in, and there she was, at a New York club with her best friends, watching...
The river we remember : a novel
Krueger, William Kent
AN EDGAR AWARD NOMINEE In 1958, a small Minnesota town is rocked by a shocking murder, pouring fresh fuel on old grievances in this dazzling novel, an instant New York Times bestseller and "a work of art" (The Denver Post). On Memorial Day...
The tainted cup : a novel
Bennett, Robert Jackson 1984-
A Holmes and Watson-style detective duo take the stage in this fantasy with a mystery twist, from the Edgar-winning, multiple Hugo-nominated Robert Jackson Bennett "Great fantasy detective stories are too rare, but Bennett--[a] rising star of fantasy--more than delivers."--Charlie...
The proof of the pudding
Bowen, Rhys
Lady Georgiana Rannoch is looking forward to her first ever turn as hostess for her very own house party when the festivities lead to murder... Georgie, back home at her estate in Eynsleigh, impatiently awaits the birth of her baby. But she has plenty to occupy her- her new chef,...
Murder in the tea leaves
Childs, Laura
It's Lights, Action, Murder as tea maven Theodosia Browning scrambles for clues in this latest installment of the New York Times bestselling series. When Theodosia Browning reads the tea leaves on the set of the movie, Dark Fortunes, things go from spooky to worse....
Holmes, Marple & Poe
Patterson, James 1947-
Crime! Murder! Who are you going to call? In New York City, three intriguing, smart, and stylish private investigators open Holmes, Marple & Poe Investigations. Who are these detectives with famous names and mysterious, untraceable pasts? ...
Payback in death
Robb, J. D. 1950-
A retired colleague's suspicious death puts Lt. Eve Dallas on the case in Payback in Death, the electrifying new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author J.D. Robb. Lt. Eve Dallas is just home from a long overdue vacation when she responds to a call of an unattended...
Feline fatale
Brown, Rita Mae
Politicians fight like cats and dogs, but when things take a deadly turn at the Virginia House of Delegates, Mary Minor "Harry" Haristeen calls on her beloved pets to help her crack the case and stop the fur from flying in this latest mystery from Rita Mae Brown and her feline co-author Sneaky...
How to solve your own murder : a novel
Perrin, Kristen
A Jimmy Fallon's Book Club Finalist for 2024 AN INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER A GMA Buzz Pick! One of Amazon's Top 10 Best Books of April, One of Jimmy Fallon's favorite books for Spring 2024, The Top LibraryReads pick for March 2024, A Publishers...
Dirty thirty
Evanovich, Janet
Janet Evanovich, the "most popular mystery writer alive" (The New York Times), is in top form as she sends Stephanie Plum on the trail of a stolen stash of dirty diamonds in this instant #1 New York Times bestseller. Stephanie Plum, Trenton's hardest working, most...
The last word
Griffiths, Elly
Words turn deadly with an unlikely detective duo on the case of a murdered obituary writer in this literary mystery from the internationally bestselling author of the Ruth Galloway series. Perfect for fans of Richard Osman and the Thursday Murder Club. Natalka and Edwin are perfect if...
A grave robbery
Raybourn, Deanna
Veronica and Stoker discover that not all fairy tales have happy endings, and some end in murder, in this latest historical mystery from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-nominated author Deanna Raybourn. Lord Rosemorran has purchased a wax figure of a beautiful...
Three-inch teeth
Box, C. J.
Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett faces two different kinds of rampaging beasts--one animal, one human--in this riveting new novel from #1 New York Times bestseller C.J. Box. A rogue grizzly bear has gone on a rampage--killing, among others, the potential fiancé of Joe's...
A most agreeable murder : a novel
Seales, Julia
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * "A delightful cocktail that mixes elements of the Bridgerton series, Jane Austen's Pride & Prejudice and Agatha Christie's Miss Marple mysteries . . . The payoff is a wealth of wit, hilarity and suspense."--People (Book of the Week) When a wealthy...
Hercule Poirot's silent night
Hannah, Sophie 1971-
The world's greatest detective, Hercule Poirot--legendary star of Agatha Christie's Murder on the Orient Express and Death on the Nile--puts his little grey cells to work solving a baffling Christmas mystery. It's December 19, 1931. Hercule Poirot and Inspector...
The antique hunter's guide to murder : a novel
Miller, C. L. (Cara L.)
USA TODAY BESTSELLER In this fun, cozy, debut mystery, an antiques hunter investigates a suspicious death at an isolated English manor, embroiling her in the high-stakes world of tracking stolen artifacts. What antique would you kill for? ...
An unfinished murder
Deveraux, Jude
Sara Medlar may be retired as a bestselling author, but her career as an amateur detective is facing one final mystery--and it's a killer. Retired romance novelist Sara Medlar has been comfortably sharing her large home with her niece Kate and her "honorary grandson" Jack. It's a...
Fatal first edition
McKinlay, Jenn
Briar Creek Library director Lindsey Norris and her husband, Sully, are at a popular library conference in Chicago to hear book restoration specialist Brooklyn Wainwright give a keynote address. After the lecture, Lindsey looks under her seat and finds a tote bag containing a first edition of...
Every time I go on vacation, someone dies : a novel
Mack, Catherine
A USA Today Bestseller #1 Toronto Star Bestseller in Canadian FictionA Globe and Mail Bestseller in Canadian Fiction A Vancouver Sun Bestseller in New Releases An Indie Next List Pick (May 2024) An...
Holly : a novel
King, Stephen 1947-
#1 New York Times Bestseller * New York Times Notable Book * NPR Best Book of the Year Holly Gibney, one of Stephen King's most compelling and resourceful characters, returns in this chilling novel to solve the gruesome truth behind multiple disappearances in a...
Judgment prey
Sandford, John 1944 February 23-
Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers team up to crack an unsolvable case in this thrilling new novel by #1 New York Times bestselling author John Sandford. Alex Sand was spending the evening at home playing basketball with his two young sons when all three were shot in cold...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.